Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Taste was good and texture fine. Had to add more flour because it was very sticky with amount given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This bread is light and delicious. I increased the yeast to one full package, and used more wheat flour and less bread flour. I used powdered buttermilk, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HorologyGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
For years I have searched for a recipe that compares to my Nana's dinner rolls. When she passed away, she took her recipe with her as she never measured ingredients nor wrote anything down. I made your dough in my bread machine then divided it to make pan rolls. Once I removed them from the over, I smeared butter on the tops like Nana used to do. Delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty. I didn't use my bread machine, I used my KA mixer instead but I think I should have let it work a little longer on the bread hook as it was kind of dense. After I took it out of the oven I spread honey on the top. I think I've finally found a good copy of the bread one of our favorite restaurants on Chincoteague Island makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've made LOTS of bread and this is one of the best. Has almost a french bread flavor. I made no changes to the recipe. Great taste. Great texture. (UPDATE) Used all whole wheat flour and added 2 pkts of instant grits. Sounds strange but the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was fantastic! I made buns using this recipe (for slow cooker italian beef for sandwiches) and they were perfect! Delicious, light, tasty! I did as many others suggested, used 1-1/3c whole wheat flour and 2c a/p flour. we ran a 'quick' errand while i left it for a 2nd rise, and we took longer than expected which made me nervous but they were fine - i might have to let them rise longer next time too, well see, but we're defintely having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
WOW! Soft. Moist. The little bit of wheat flour made a big difference in making the bread a little more tasty. I increased the yeast and sugar as others said. I kneaded it for 10 minutes, mainly using oil on my hands. I only needed a bit of flour on the surface towards the end of my kneading. I let it rise covered in a warmed oven until my 2 fingers pushed into the top left an indentation. I dont have a loaf pan so I decided to make a freeform loaf. So I pushed the bread with my finger tips into a big rectangle, letting the air out ("punching" dough is not literal). I rolled it like an egg roll, put it seam side down in a lightly oiled pyrex, and I put it back in the residual heat in the oven for a half hour. I took it out, cut slits on top, brushed with milk, and baked it at 350 until the top was lightly browned. Next time I would put cornmeal on the bottom or oil it more than I did. I buttered it when it was finished to keep the crust soft, but next time I wont because the slight crust on the bottom was so good. Im proud of my work-this is what allrecipes is about! I just had pb & j....and I am looking for an excuse to have another slice. :) 11/1/10: I am still making this. Recently I used the yeast specified in the recipe. It didnt rise much after I shaped it into a ball, so I flattened it and let it rise an additional time before shaping it for the third rise. It actually came our better this way (original yeast amount, extra rise in between). Check b4 and after photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This bread recipe turned out absolutely perfect, just as it is written. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Not quite as good as the other recipe. I did use 1 cup of ww flour, so maybe try again for the white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This bread was fabulous! Excellent recipe! I made using the ingredients listed and in their original measurements. I don't have a bread machine, so I mixed with my Kitchen Aid mixer, let rise and bake. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States