Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This syrup is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is the best syrup ever! A caramel-type flavor and the texture is great too. I don't make the same old maple-flavored stuff anymore now that I have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The BEST syrup--this has become my family's favorite! Love it on whole wheat pancakes, Belgian waffles, French toast, or anything you would put maple syrup on. I made it for a church breakfast and received many requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soda Springs, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This is the best syrup I've ever had!! It makes ANY pancake or waffle FABULOUS. I made extra and put it in an empty syrup bottle. We keep it in the fridge, and heat the bottle in boiling water before using it. Lasts forever! SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Great alternative to maple syrup! A little on the sweet side though... I may decrease the sugar next time, but it was still a hit in my house. Make sure you keep stirring the syrup as it cooks or it will catch and burn (not a pleasant smell). Also, let it cool slightly and thicken some before you pour it over your pancakes... it will give the flavors a chance to really combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Great caramel-like flavor! Make sure to use a larger saucepan than you think you'll need, because it boils and foams up quite a bit. Doesn't seem like it would be good with the buttermilk, but it is soooo yummy! We used the leftovers on vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
We love this recipe! My kids make themselves pancakes and syrup a lot now. Uh oh! Maybe that's not a good thing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Simply amazing! I didn't have corn syrup so I used 2t corn starch and 1T flour to thicken it and after it cooled it thickened. This syrup is wonderful. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is heavenly! My husband, who wants everything simple and the same every single day, groaned when I told him I was making homemade pancake syrup. I really did it out of necessity since we were so low on our store-bought syrup. Needless to say he love it and won't eat store-bought anymore. Plus he raves on and on to everyone about how great it is and that it's the best he's ever had. Thank you, so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This recipe is soooo yummy--I've made it several times and it's a big hit around here. I actually made it yesterday and cooked it about ninety seconds too long because someone came to the door. I thought I'd ruined it, but it turned out even more delicious--more of that heavenly caramel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States