Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was soooo good! it reminded me of a taffy my mom made when I was a kid. It was so easy to make! I kinda freaked when it bubbled up, but it never went over the edge of the pot. :) I added 1/8 tsp. of almond extract with the vanilla. WAY GOOD!!! :) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My husband says he never wants regular maple syrup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Well it sounded good anyway. I had to remove this from the heat with still 2 minutes on the timer. I used med heat instead of med-hi and this was looking dark and smelling toasty and I was afraid of burning it. Well, what turned out was candy not syrup. It hardened and we were unable to eat it. I had to soak the pot and the spoon in hot soapy water to "melt" the candy off. I should have just added some roasted peanuts and called it "messed up peanut brittle". Nothing was salvagable on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe was great, some syrups are too thick and this one was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I ran out of maple syrup and needed something quick and easy that I could make while my french toast was cooking.This was great. I only needed enough for 2 people so I scaled the recipe back to 2 servings and it worked just fine. I just didn't have to cook it as long. I made my own buttermilk with whole milk and cider vinegar (because I thought the cider flavor would add something) and it tasted great. My husband said he was impressed. I think I'm just going to make this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I dont know what happened my syrup didnt turn out well. The taste was great but it was too thick. I let it boil for the 7 minutes. I was still able to use it on the blueberry oat pancakes I made. But it just wasnt syrup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Made this in a pinch when we ran out of syrup one Sunday morning - now we don't buy syrup as my family much prefers this to Aunt Jem's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great recipe! We make this all of the time! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
So good! I put on my banana pancakes,boy was it Heaven!! I didnt have buttermilk so I put 1 tablespoon of vinagar into the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great for french toast. The butter solidifies in the fridge, so it needs to be re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States