Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is just an ok version of a Buttermilk Syrup recipe. By tweaking a few things, the results yield a fluffier, cream-colored syrup which is far superior in my opinion. Try this: combine 1 cup sugar, 3/4 cup buttermilk and 1/2 cup butter in sauce pan. Boil for 3 minutes, remove from heat and add 3/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Stir until blended and voila, awesome syrup! Adding the baking soda AFTER boiling really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe is really good! Be sure to stir constantly as directed and cook for a smaller amount of time if you are decreasing the serving amount. Keep in mind while deciding when to take off the heat that it WILL thicken after cooling down a bit. I added a little almond extract and ground cinnamon to mine because I love those flavors on my pancakes. SO GOOD and EASY! You could also add a little maple extract if you wanted to for a bit of a maple flavor. Or for a twist, Orange extract! Possibilities are limitless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Now I know how to make a great caramel-tasting sauce, but I think it is NOT at all an option for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So yummy and easy to make - will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I replaced the corn syrup with honey. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Awesome syrup. I only put in 1/2c of sugar & instead of corn syrup i added in some honey. Thank you for posting an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was soooo good! it reminded me of a taffy my mom made when I was a kid. It was so easy to make! I kinda freaked when it bubbled up, but it never went over the edge of the pot. :) I added 1/8 tsp. of almond extract with the vanilla. WAY GOOD!!! :) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My husband says he never wants regular maple syrup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Well it sounded good anyway. I had to remove this from the heat with still 2 minutes on the timer. I used med heat instead of med-hi and this was looking dark and smelling toasty and I was afraid of burning it. Well, what turned out was candy not syrup. It hardened and we were unable to eat it. I had to soak the pot and the spoon in hot soapy water to "melt" the candy off. I should have just added some roasted peanuts and called it "messed up peanut brittle". Nothing was salvagable on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe was great, some syrups are too thick and this one was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States