Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Utter perfection. One of the best recipes on this site. I have also used a vanilla bean instead of the extract. The vanilla seeds are visable and the wonderful vanilla flavor sends this great recipe over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Heaven...seriously. So so good. Made exactly as written. I had a huge jug of buttermilk left over after making my cousin's b-day cake and no idea what to do with it. Came across this recipe and really wasn't expecting too much because who ever thought of making a syrup out of buttermilk!?! (yes, I'm sheltered)..but this was creamy, caramel-y, deliciousness. I put this over buttermilk pancakes and it was fabulous, but I also make a delicious baked french toast from this site that I think this would be perfect on as well. YUM and THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
have only made fruit syrups on my own, never a regular syrup. this was incredible! i used vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla ext, it gave the syrup a beautiful vanilla bean-flecked creaminess, and also added a few tsp. cornstarch to thicken it up a little. Perfect, and keeps well in the fridge. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious light caramelly tasting syrup. Easy to make, delicious on our Blueberry Pancakes, but I am thinking it would be stellar on Pecan Pancakes. We refrigerated the left overs and used it cold as an apple dip...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is just an ok version of a Buttermilk Syrup recipe. By tweaking a few things, the results yield a fluffier, cream-colored syrup which is far superior in my opinion. Try this: combine 1 cup sugar, 3/4 cup buttermilk and 1/2 cup butter in sauce pan. Boil for 3 minutes, remove from heat and add 3/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Stir until blended and voila, awesome syrup! Adding the baking soda AFTER boiling really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe is really good! Be sure to stir constantly as directed and cook for a smaller amount of time if you are decreasing the serving amount. Keep in mind while deciding when to take off the heat that it WILL thicken after cooling down a bit. I added a little almond extract and ground cinnamon to mine because I love those flavors on my pancakes. SO GOOD and EASY! You could also add a little maple extract if you wanted to for a bit of a maple flavor. Or for a twist, Orange extract! Possibilities are limitless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Now I know how to make a great caramel-tasting sauce, but I think it is NOT at all an option for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So yummy and easy to make - will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I replaced the corn syrup with honey. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Awesome syrup. I only put in 1/2c of sugar & instead of corn syrup i added in some honey. Thank you for posting an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 61-70 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States