Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday, followed directions exactly, did not change a thing and it was perfect. Actually it was fantastic!. Refrigerated it overnight and heated up some to go on pancakes made from scratch this morning and it was out of this world. This is a wonderful recipe and definitely a keeper. My sister in Tucson will be making some today. I told her that she will not be disappointed. By the way, for those who said it was sweet well the fact that it is a syrup should have given you a clue. I can't wait to serve it this Saturday when I make Lemon-Ricotta Blueberry Pancakes (from scratch. I plan to double the recipe next time so I can give some to my daughter. ALISSASMOM thank you for this delicious, perfect and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Must be a regional thing. This California girl simply did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The recipe I use doesn't call for corn syrup. It has a little more sugar and buttermilk. This syrup is absolutely amazing! In my recipe you add the vanilla and baking soda after you take it off the heat so there is no bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a LOT, long before I found it posted here, and have even made it in the last few years with Whey Low Sugar Substitute (don't try it with other sugar substitutes though, like Splenda or Nutrasweet -- it will NOT work!). There are two keys to it -- don't cook it ANY longer than absolutely necessary, just watch for the color and texture to change and remove it from heat IMMEDIATELY, then stir in the vanilla (not before or it will be bitter)and use a BIG pot or it will boil over and you will have a real mess on your hands. It should be light colored like caramel, not dark brown. And yes it does get hard when it is cold but you can warm it up in the microwave and it will remelt -- just keep an eye on it. Stores well for months in the refrigerator but portion it up in small jars as repeated heating will thicken it. Great stuff! Try it as a glaze for a cake or stir in pecans and use as a sauce for ice cream -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
OMG This is the best ever! After reading all the reviews, I made a few adjustments and it was fabulous! Reduced sugar to 1 cup, reduced baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon and added a few shakes of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious! Makes my pancakes melt in the mouth good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I reached for the buttermilk but got the eggnog instead. What a fabulous variation on this already spectacular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and I absolutely LOVE it! So easy to make. I always use homemade buttermilk. (there's no point for store-bought buttermilk..it's expensive and I end up not using an entire box) For homemade buttermilk, place 3/4 TBSP vinegar in a measuring cup. Fill it up with milk (I use 2%) up to the 3/4 cup mark. Let it sit for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It was super tasty. but was to hard to be a syrup more like a solid piece of taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was the best syrup recipe ever!!! I have made a couple different recipes and this is by far the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States