Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Ohmygoodness. This is divine. I used half white sugar and half no-calorie brown sugar. It was still really sweet so after it had cooled a bit and I saw how thick it was going to be, I added about 2 TB of butter and stirred it in as it cooled the rest of the way. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I had some buttermilk leftover from another recipe and decided to give this a shot. WOW! I've never had syrup this good (I'm not a maple lover) my family just loved having hot homemade syrup with our weekend pancakes. I had about half of it left over so I put it in a jar and kept it in the fridge and 4 days later it was still just as good. Just pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My Great-Aunt used to make Buttermilk Fudge, and it's basically this recipe but cooked to soft-ball stage, cooled, and then beat until creamy. It was always my favorite kind of fudge, so to find that taste in a versatile syrup that is easier to make and share is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I omitted the baking soda as well as another reviewer and I don't think it was missed. The final product is DIVINE! And it uses everything I always have on hand :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Made this one morning when we were out of the store-bought syrup and I had some buttermilk left in the fridge (this is rare, I don't often use buttermilk). My 8 year old said it was "the best syrup he's ever tasted" and we won't be buying anything from the store again! My assessment was- a little less vanilla (made it too caramely) and if you dissolve the baking soda in water before adding it to the other ingredients it's easier to work with. All in all...I will definitely be making this syrup again and again! Thanks for the easy, delicious and far less "chemical" syrup that my kids (and I) both loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Really good. I don't write many reviews, but this was so quick and tasty - nothing to it. I followed instructions except using brown sugar, which I will do next time Also it is very sweet, so less sugar next time as well. I tossed in a partial handfull of chopped pecans which really added good flavor and a crunch. In this case the sweet was a wonderful foil to raspberry pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I made this as written - but I clearly didn't read the cooking instructions correctly. After I brought it to a boil, I continued to boil for 7 minutes rather than cook for 7 minutes. It got very very thick, as in caramel consistency. It had amazing taste, but not what I wanted for syrup. I asked for help from the "AR Buzz" and someone told me to heat on low until it softened and add some more buttermilk. That did the trick. This picture was taken before I thinned it down. The flavor of this is out of this world. We really liked it on ice cream with peanuts and bananas last night. That is probably how the rest of it will be eaten. I will make another batch of this and cook rather than boil for the 7 minutes. Thanks Alissasmom for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious!!! I was looking for a way to use up the buttermilk I bought for another recipe and this was perfect. My husband liked it so much, he asked for it for Father's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very fun to make-- I wasn't expecting the syrup to foam so much! I added the vanilla before the boiling by accident, but it still survived. It made exactly 2 cups! My only complaint is that it's a bit too sweet, and would taste better with crepes than pancakes. Thanks for the recipe! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This syrup is a welcome change from the grocery store sticky goo to we usually buy! I did use a LARGE pot to make this in because it will boil up! I don't even think I let it boil the full 7 minutes, when it was the color and consistency I wanted, I took it off the heat. Keep in mind it does continue to thicken once off the heat! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States