Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Fantastic taste! I actually ran out of vanilla after 1 tsp. so I used maple extract for the other one and I'm glad I did. The only complaint is that it needs to say a LARGE saucepan in the recipe. I used a medium one and it boiled over while I was making my waffles. There was plenty left so I saved it to use again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I decided to do a 1/2 recipe of this to try it out. I got what tasted more like a "caramel sauce," than a syrup, in taste and texture unless that is what buttermilk syrup really is. I really liked the taste of it before it boiled the full 7 minutes and got too thick. However, a part of me feels like it is probably because I cut the recipe in half, so I don't suggest doing that. I would also use the largest saucepan, because this more than doubles in size when boiling. I may try again with the full recipe and maybe not boil it the full 7 minutes or at a lower temperature to see if I can get more of a syrup then a caramel if that is not the case. As a caramel like sauce it tasted good although when I follow directions for syrup, I expect to get something similar to what I know as syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious! I cut the batch in half since it was only my daughter and I eating it. GREAT alternative to maple syrup :) would and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
after reading other reviews it had to be my own fault so I feel bad giving such a poor review but this was just bad. it was first of all white not even brown, there was a weird film over the top like it wanted to be brown but couldnt quite make it, it was super thin, it was WAY too sweet and actually upset our stomachs after eating ... I am not quite sure what I did wrong but after looking at pictures there was something.... I guess just be warned of sweetness( and we are a sweets loving family...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but I was served it over hot, fresh blueberry pancakes at the home of my cousin. It was so absolutely delicious, I haven't stopped thinking about it since that morning. Now, I'm going to make it for my own family. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I use a recipe that is very similar to this one (minus the corn syrup and half white sugar and half brown sugar for a deeper flavor) and we love it!!! We eat it on french toast casserole, bread pudding, ice cream, tires. ;o) It is simply decadent and wonderful! Definitely a keeper and something a little out of the ordinary to serve when you have guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Awesome. I like to make homemade syrups and different kinds of pancakes. I don't normally like to use corn syrup but there wasn't a whole lot in this recipe sooooooo I tried it. Very foamy when cooking it. After trying the recipe several times I used brown sugar instead of white and used milk from our bulk tank. Turned out caramelly and sweet Just as good. Love this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I was out of maple sryup and happened to have buttermilk on hand. I was looking for ways to use up the buttermilk and decided to make this recipes along w/ buttermilk pancakes. It was delicious!! My kids raved about it, my daughter suggested to dip popcorn and pretzels in the sryup, I'm sure that would be good too. I made the recipes as written. Definately recommend you try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkitts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Mmmmmmmmm!! This is OUTSTANDING! I had some buttermilk to use up so I went searching on this site for things I could make. I found this syrup and buttermilk banana bread. This syrup is heavenly! Even before I added the vanilla I kept taste testing and it was so good just the way it was. Sort of tasted like sweetended condensed milk. YUM. But after I added the vanilla, it was even better! Almost like a buttery caramel candy. I planned on serving it on ice cream but let me tell you, it was excellent on top of the banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good. I'll make again and maybe try something a little different to give it some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States