Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Very easy and good. If you don't have buttermilk, you can substitute milk + vinegar. But, it's a bit better with buttermilk. Use a large pan because it will foam up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
love this syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Our family loves this syrup on all things mentioned! This Syrup is also AMAZING on what we, in the west, call scones AKA frybread. Try buttermilk Syrup on these! Mix:1 C. warmed milk, 1c. warm water, 1Tbs yeast, 3Tbs sugar and let rest/proof 3-5 minutes. Add: 1/4c. melted, cooled, butter, 1T Salt and 5-6 cups flour. Roll the dough to a thin 1/2 inch thickness on a floured surface, and allow to rise a few minutes while heating a pan of oil to 325* (never leave oil unattended!) cut dough from edges into crescents/pieces with the edge of a small 4-5 inch bowl. fry in oil on both sides until golden. Serve with Buttermilk Syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is great on pumpkin pancakes. We also like to slice apples, pears and bananas and dip them into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've made this twice now. First time it was way too sweet, second time I reduced the sugar by half and it was perfect. I will no longer buy syrup. This is so yummy and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Awesome syrup! I made it to go over bread pudding and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe called. It was fantastic! When it's cooled I think it would be great on ice cream too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Tasted like caramel! Served with Old-Fashioned Pancakes from AR. I had a lot of leftover syrup so I put it in a spare glass maple syrup jar and will freeze. Not sure if it will get hard or just tacky so I'll update later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Delicious! I didn't use any corn syrup, and it thickened perfectly- so much so I actually ended up adding about 1/4c water to thin it out. Added a little bit of brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshlyHere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was a FANTASTIC recipe! Honestly, the best syrup I've ever had. I'm not even gonna buy store bought anymore. However, we only used a cup of sugar (and I STILL think it could have used less--it's VERY sweet) and we added an 1/8 tsp cinnamon. It was very thick, so I think it could use some water in there, too, but not much. We put it on french toast and it was just PERFECT. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States