Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I have made several recipes like this. Here's a few things to note. #1. When it cools, it gets hard. Like chewy caramels. Reheat it. #2. The longer you boil it, the THICKER and, later, CHEWIER it will get. You'll know when it has reached the point where it is no longer just a bunch of stuff in a pot and has become a sauce, because the color changes and the entire texture of the mixture changes abruptly. #3. This mixture grows in volume to about 6 times or more what you originally put in there. Use a HUGE pot and don't walk away from it. If it's getting too high, remove from heat, stir it down, reduce heat, and put it back. #4. The baking soda doesn't make a "bitter" taste. Burning the vanilla does. Remove from heat, and stir it until it doesn't bubble anymore, then stir in the vanilla. That "bitter" flavor is what happens when you burn vanilla, in ANY recipe. I hope these tips help someone; this is a fabulous syrup/sauce/caramel ice cream topping/cheesecake topping/whatever you want. Thanks for the recipe & the excuse to make another version of this totally sinful sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
After sampling a buttermilk syrup at a local farmer's market, I thought I'd try and track down a recipe I could make at home. I am soooo happy I found this recipe. It's very similar and doesn't cost nearly as much to make as they were charging at the market ($7 for a little tub!) I am going to make & bottle this up for my neighbor's for Christmas present, along with pancake mix. Thank you so much for the fabulous recipe!!!----2nd Review: K, I made this a 2nd time & purposely omitted the baking soda. It's sooo much better. It doesn't have a bitter, baking soda taste like the first batch & it's a pretty, white color. It does have to cook a little longer & thickens up upon sitting on a heating pad off the stove. I like it even better the 2nd way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This syrup is heavenly! I never thought buttermilk could make such a yummy caramel sauce, but every time we make this syrup, it's a huge hit. Just beware of how it doubles or triples in bulk as it boils and use a large enough pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I make pancakes almost every morning and had buttermilk on hand, so i decided to try this homemade syrup (instead of the usuall store-bought kind). This syrup is heavenly. It's so much better than store-bought syrup and it's easy to make. I always save leftovers in the fridge and heat it up when i want to use it again. FYI: Lately Ive brought the sugar down to just 1 cup instead of 1 1/2 cups and it still tastes very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
So YUMMY! I didn't have any buttermilk so I added 2 1/2 t of lemon juice to 3/4 cup -2 1/2 t milk and let it sit until thickened. I wasn't sure if this would work but it did and hey less calories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Ridiculously good. I started a small kitchen fire because I forgot to cook it in a big pot, so remember to do that. But really, if my house had burned down and all I managed to save was the syrup, it possibly would have been worth it... it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobhan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Simply amazing! I didn't have corn syrup so I used 2t corn starch and 1T flour to thicken it and after it cooled it thickened. This syrup is wonderful. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This makes a beautiful caramel sauce. To avoid accidents, I made this in a large enameled cast-iron bean pot, and was thankful I did. When this foams up during cooking it seems to triple in size! I let this cool to warm room temperature and served it with vanilla ice cream, blueberries, and a sprinkle of freshly ground sea salt. This might sound strange, but the salt with the caramel was fantastic and turned out to be one of our favorite desserts ever. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I'd like to give this only 4 stars because it was really, really, really sweet if it were not for the fact that it was really good. I would definitely not add as much sugar. Possible even just 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I had a little extra buttermilk from making buttermilk pancakes II (yummy!) so found this to try. I made it on a day when I had too many pots on the stove so I cooked it on very low. The phone rang, people came to the door ... in general I was *very* distracted the entire time. I kept the burner on low until the butter melted, stirring occasionally, then bumped it up to 2, then 3. It foamed but I didn't realize that was probably "boil". I actually turned it off when the interruptions got too much. When I came back, I thought for sure it would be ruined but it was perfect! So if you are worried about it boiling over or burning or not being able to stir it as often, try cooking it on very low. A little more time needed but it turns out great without as much babysitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States