Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
very delicious! i took another reviewers advice and added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp maple and i absolutely LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Wow, this isn't for the faint of heart. This is a true, caramelly-thick syrup. My husband was seriously in ecstacy. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Easy and great. I didn't add the corn syrup basically because we don't have it over here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have had this saved for some time but never made it before now. I followed the recipe exactly and I must say this is wonderful. It reminds me of pralines and will be excellent on my pancakes tomorrow. I had read that it was better if it sat for overnight so I made it today. I did not taste any bitterness nor is there an aftertaste. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I just made this, and I won't be buying store bought syrup again! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of only using one cup of sugar. this is very delicious; a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Perfect syrup!!! I LOVE it. As others have said use a BIG pot. It expands as it is cooking, then retracts when it is away from the heat. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I never want to eat syrup from a bottle again. I can't believe this has been missing my whole life! I've yet to find a person who doesn't love this recipe. I think it goes best with waffles but it really tastes good on anything. Try it on warm sopapillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
DH loved the syrup so I'm rating a 5 as he suggested. It tastes very much like caramel. Thicker than I anticipated. Good flavor on pancakes, and I imagine it would also work on french toast. We both think it would be great on ice cream. Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
this was chunky & hard, after it cooled it turned into a block-ok so we re-heated it, then stirred & it just turns into a gloopy, chunky mess. nooootttt syrupy at all. this disapointed my morning w/ french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maiseheartsfashion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Whomever said that she would save only this syrup if her house burned down was not kidding! I made this with only one exception: I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp. maple extract as I wanted something a little more maple-y for our pancakes. I don't think it mattered all that much, though, because the carmel flavor still stood out. My kids LOVED the syrup; my 11 year old daughter stood at the stove with a spoon eating it right out of the pot! Next time I will double the recipe because I always make extra pancakes to heat up for the kids' breakfasts on school mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States