Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
DH loved the syrup so I'm rating a 5 as he suggested. It tastes very much like caramel. Thicker than I anticipated. Good flavor on pancakes, and I imagine it would also work on french toast. We both think it would be great on ice cream. Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
this was chunky & hard, after it cooled it turned into a block-ok so we re-heated it, then stirred & it just turns into a gloopy, chunky mess. nooootttt syrupy at all. this disapointed my morning w/ french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maiseheartsfashion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Whomever said that she would save only this syrup if her house burned down was not kidding! I made this with only one exception: I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp. maple extract as I wanted something a little more maple-y for our pancakes. I don't think it mattered all that much, though, because the carmel flavor still stood out. My kids LOVED the syrup; my 11 year old daughter stood at the stove with a spoon eating it right out of the pot! Next time I will double the recipe because I always make extra pancakes to heat up for the kids' breakfasts on school mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I used 1 cup of sugar and kept everything else the same. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made it with 1 cup of sugar and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My husband loved this, but I gave it 4 stars because I had to make some changes. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and it was still on the sweet side. Also, I pulled it off the stove after 5 minutes of boiling (not 7) and I'm glad I did. It was just the right consistency when cooled. Any longer on the stove and it would've been too thick. Overall, I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the tastiest syrup I've had in a long time. My family raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
OMG. I will never buy store syrup again! As others have mentioned, it does puff up when you're cooking it. The recipe didn't mention whether or not it needed to be stirred while boiling. I know if you're making candy you don't have to, but I wasn't sure about syrup. So I stirred it once and awhile. Every time I stirred it it seemed to turn more brown. This was wonderful and I will definitely make it again because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Utter perfection. One of the best recipes on this site. I have also used a vanilla bean instead of the extract. The vanilla seeds are visable and the wonderful vanilla flavor sends this great recipe over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Heaven...seriously. So so good. Made exactly as written. I had a huge jug of buttermilk left over after making my cousin's b-day cake and no idea what to do with it. Came across this recipe and really wasn't expecting too much because who ever thought of making a syrup out of buttermilk!?! (yes, I'm sheltered)..but this was creamy, caramel-y, deliciousness. I put this over buttermilk pancakes and it was fabulous, but I also make a delicious baked french toast from this site that I think this would be perfect on as well. YUM and THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States