Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and I absolutely LOVE it! So easy to make. I always use homemade buttermilk. (there's no point for store-bought buttermilk..it's expensive and I end up not using an entire box) For homemade buttermilk, place 3/4 TBSP vinegar in a measuring cup. Fill it up with milk (I use 2%) up to the 3/4 cup mark. Let it sit for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It was super tasty. but was to hard to be a syrup more like a solid piece of taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was the best syrup recipe ever!!! I have made a couple different recipes and this is by far the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made it without the corn syrup, because I avoid all GMO's, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
It takes me back to grandma's. My children beg for it every weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Love it as does anyone who I have made this for! Best when first made but still great after it has been in the fridge and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
You can make this healthier and still be delicious. This stuff is amazing as is - and dangerous, I could eat it with a spoon - but I've started making a healthier version that my family still loves. I cut back on the sugar a bit (like 1 to 1 1/4 c. instead of 1 1/2 c.) and after I make the syrup, I mix it with applesauce. It is still very delicious, but healthier. You can play with the ratio you like, I generally do about half syrup/half applesauce. We use it on pancakes and waffles, as a dipping sauce for apple slices, and as an ice cream topping. Sometimes I mix the applesauce in the pan, right after I've made it, and sometimes later, just popping some of the buttermilk syrup and applesauce in a bowl and microwaving it. (It is so good warm.) Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My family LOVED this syrup over Fluffy Pancakes from this site! It is a keeper and since finding this recipe I will never settle for store bought syrup and for that matter I (hopefully!!!) will NEVER EAT PANCAKES AND SYRUP AT A RESTAURANT AGAIN! My question is can the syrup be stored at room temp. or must it be kept in fridge? It is so wonderful I want to give batches of it away to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
It's pretty amazing. Make sure you use a large pot when cooking and don't add the vanilla until it has cooled a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Holy carp...was this ever good. This is definitely a five star recipe. Who knew? Apparently 260 other reviewers. This rave review is comingfrom a CANADIAN who loves her some real maple syrup. This stuff is super tasty! Buttery sweet ambrosia on my pancakes! As other reviewers pointed out use a large pot to contain the foamyness, the buttermilk will curdle but it comes out fine and it gets much thicker as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States