Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This syrup was fantastic. Tastes like heaven, and so easy to make! My husband kept asking what the ingredients were, like he couldn't believe how simple and sweet it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
DO NOT BOIL THIS TOO LONG!!! Or you will have caramels or hard candy! Also, be aware that if you have leftovers and warm this up in the microwave oven, it will get thicker and darker each time. (It was the thickness of ice cream carmel topping by the time we finished it all off). FANTASTIC TASTE!! (oh, I should say that I used curdled half and half to make a bunch of "buttermilk" recipes on this site! I just blended it really well before starting any of the recipes so it wouldn't have clumps). SO EASY TO MAKE! OH, Also...don't use a small pan...this will DOUBLE or MORE in size while boiling, so pick a LARGE saucepan unless you like cleaning your stove from boil-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved this syrup! I probably won't buy syrup ever again! I think when making it, you have to be careful not to over boil it, as that is when it will turn into a candy as some other reviews had commented! Definitely a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday, followed directions exactly, did not change a thing and it was perfect. Actually it was fantastic!. Refrigerated it overnight and heated up some to go on pancakes made from scratch this morning and it was out of this world. This is a wonderful recipe and definitely a keeper. My sister in Tucson will be making some today. I told her that she will not be disappointed. By the way, for those who said it was sweet well the fact that it is a syrup should have given you a clue. I can't wait to serve it this Saturday when I make Lemon-Ricotta Blueberry Pancakes (from scratch. I plan to double the recipe next time so I can give some to my daughter. ALISSASMOM thank you for this delicious, perfect and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Must be a regional thing. This California girl simply did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
The recipe I use doesn't call for corn syrup. It has a little more sugar and buttermilk. This syrup is absolutely amazing! In my recipe you add the vanilla and baking soda after you take it off the heat so there is no bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a LOT, long before I found it posted here, and have even made it in the last few years with Whey Low Sugar Substitute (don't try it with other sugar substitutes though, like Splenda or Nutrasweet -- it will NOT work!). There are two keys to it -- don't cook it ANY longer than absolutely necessary, just watch for the color and texture to change and remove it from heat IMMEDIATELY, then stir in the vanilla (not before or it will be bitter)and use a BIG pot or it will boil over and you will have a real mess on your hands. It should be light colored like caramel, not dark brown. And yes it does get hard when it is cold but you can warm it up in the microwave and it will remelt -- just keep an eye on it. Stores well for months in the refrigerator but portion it up in small jars as repeated heating will thicken it. Great stuff! Try it as a glaze for a cake or stir in pecans and use as a sauce for ice cream -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
OMG This is the best ever! After reading all the reviews, I made a few adjustments and it was fabulous! Reduced sugar to 1 cup, reduced baking soda to 1/2 teaspoon and added a few shakes of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious! Makes my pancakes melt in the mouth good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I reached for the buttermilk but got the eggnog instead. What a fabulous variation on this already spectacular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States