Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Absolute divine!! MUST MAKE MORE!! No more store bought syrup in this house. Ty for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We were out of regular syrup so my daughter decided to try this recipe and it is very good. Followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I was wondering about was whether you could store this and how long it would be good for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n33se

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This syrup is a knock-out. Everyone loves it, unexpectedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Amazing syrup!! I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. We pour it over ice cream or the black magic cake from this site. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Glad to see this recipe for this great syrup. I gave this recipe to my friend who ran the B&B in South Dakota and received the recipe myself from another friend about 35 years ago. Still making it today for special occasions as it is very rich. Leftovers keep for a long time in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I didn't want to add corn syrup so I just left it out. I don't think it's necessary as long as you cook it long enough. Very nice flavor and pretty caramel color. I might get some maple abstract to give it a more traditional maple flavor, but overall we really liked this. It's nice to make something with simple ingredients to replace the store-bought syrup full of "stuff"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used only 1c of sugar. Also took advice from others and stored in small batches. When reheating I plopped it in the microwave for 10 secs, stirred then another 10 seconds did the trick. Made the mistake of heating it for 1 minute and it got sticky and hard. With less heat it was warm but stick in liquid form to pour over. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This syrup was fantastic. Tastes like heaven, and so easy to make! My husband kept asking what the ingredients were, like he couldn't believe how simple and sweet it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
DO NOT BOIL THIS TOO LONG!!! Or you will have caramels or hard candy! Also, be aware that if you have leftovers and warm this up in the microwave oven, it will get thicker and darker each time. (It was the thickness of ice cream carmel topping by the time we finished it all off). FANTASTIC TASTE!! (oh, I should say that I used curdled half and half to make a bunch of "buttermilk" recipes on this site! I just blended it really well before starting any of the recipes so it wouldn't have clumps). SO EASY TO MAKE! OH, Also...don't use a small pan...this will DOUBLE or MORE in size while boiling, so pick a LARGE saucepan unless you like cleaning your stove from boil-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved this syrup! I probably won't buy syrup ever again! I think when making it, you have to be careful not to over boil it, as that is when it will turn into a candy as some other reviews had commented! Definitely a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States