Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Really good. I don't write many reviews, but this was so quick and tasty - nothing to it. I followed instructions except using brown sugar, which I will do next time Also it is very sweet, so less sugar next time as well. I tossed in a partial handfull of chopped pecans which really added good flavor and a crunch. In this case the sweet was a wonderful foil to raspberry pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I made this as written - but I clearly didn't read the cooking instructions correctly. After I brought it to a boil, I continued to boil for 7 minutes rather than cook for 7 minutes. It got very very thick, as in caramel consistency. It had amazing taste, but not what I wanted for syrup. I asked for help from the "AR Buzz" and someone told me to heat on low until it softened and add some more buttermilk. That did the trick. This picture was taken before I thinned it down. The flavor of this is out of this world. We really liked it on ice cream with peanuts and bananas last night. That is probably how the rest of it will be eaten. I will make another batch of this and cook rather than boil for the 7 minutes. Thanks Alissasmom for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious!!! I was looking for a way to use up the buttermilk I bought for another recipe and this was perfect. My husband liked it so much, he asked for it for Father's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very fun to make-- I wasn't expecting the syrup to foam so much! I added the vanilla before the boiling by accident, but it still survived. It made exactly 2 cups! My only complaint is that it's a bit too sweet, and would taste better with crepes than pancakes. Thanks for the recipe! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This syrup is a welcome change from the grocery store sticky goo to we usually buy! I did use a LARGE pot to make this in because it will boil up! I don't even think I let it boil the full 7 minutes, when it was the color and consistency I wanted, I took it off the heat. Keep in mind it does continue to thicken once off the heat! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Fantastic taste! I actually ran out of vanilla after 1 tsp. so I used maple extract for the other one and I'm glad I did. The only complaint is that it needs to say a LARGE saucepan in the recipe. I used a medium one and it boiled over while I was making my waffles. There was plenty left so I saved it to use again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I decided to do a 1/2 recipe of this to try it out. I got what tasted more like a "caramel sauce," than a syrup, in taste and texture unless that is what buttermilk syrup really is. I really liked the taste of it before it boiled the full 7 minutes and got too thick. However, a part of me feels like it is probably because I cut the recipe in half, so I don't suggest doing that. I would also use the largest saucepan, because this more than doubles in size when boiling. I may try again with the full recipe and maybe not boil it the full 7 minutes or at a lower temperature to see if I can get more of a syrup then a caramel if that is not the case. As a caramel like sauce it tasted good although when I follow directions for syrup, I expect to get something similar to what I know as syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious! I cut the batch in half since it was only my daughter and I eating it. GREAT alternative to maple syrup :) would and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
after reading other reviews it had to be my own fault so I feel bad giving such a poor review but this was just bad. it was first of all white not even brown, there was a weird film over the top like it wanted to be brown but couldnt quite make it, it was super thin, it was WAY too sweet and actually upset our stomachs after eating ... I am not quite sure what I did wrong but after looking at pictures there was something.... I guess just be warned of sweetness( and we are a sweets loving family...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but I was served it over hot, fresh blueberry pancakes at the home of my cousin. It was so absolutely delicious, I haven't stopped thinking about it since that morning. Now, I'm going to make it for my own family. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States