Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
What a simple, easy, and delicious dessert! I had some buttermilk I had to use up and this was just perfect. For the shortcakes, I froze the butter and grated it which is much easier. After dropping these onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and did an egg wash (one egg well beaten with 1 Tbsp. of water) and then topped it off with the turbinado sugar which provided a nice little crunch. These baked up beautifully and tasted wonderful. I served them with "Easy Whipped Cream" from this site. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great simple, easy and delicious recipe. I sliced some of the strawberries ahead of time in order for the juice to form. The only ingredient change I made was to sprinkle with light brown sugar instead of turbinado. A word of caution, watch the baking time. While the recipe does not require whipped cream, I did add it on the side. Going in my favorite recipe file. Thanks Emmie4life for sharing your recipe here on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
We really enjoyed this. Cut the recipe in half for 6 servings and it worked out great. Tender, moist shortcakes with a pleasant crunch from the sanding sugar (did not have turbinado sugar). I will watch the baking time a little closer next time. Delicious at 15 minutes but I will pull them at 13 - 14 min when we have these again. I would also suggest making these close to serving time. The leftovers were not nearly as tender the next day. I am always looking for super fast, easy recipes that taste and present like you have spent more time preparing and this is a great example. Looking forward to trying all types of fresh fruit this spring and summer with this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic! These are light, wonderful shortcake biscuits. The only changes I made to the recipe was to decrease the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and I used white sugar on top of the biscuits because I did not have turbinado sugar. Just ate one with my strawberries and these are delicious! A must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Amazing. This was a perfect way to end a good meal. Make sure you use unsalted butter or omit the salt. Also if you don't have buttermilk add 1 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk. Let stand for 5 minutes before using. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
very nice biscuit, shortcake recipe. I will not have enough strawberries for the number of biscuits (my own fault) so I added some homemade applesauce to the strawberries to stretch them out a little. No need for extra sugar this way and it is very tasty. I used a large ice cream scoop to scoop these into a mega muffin tin, the butter melted down the sides, collecting in the bottom, causing the whole outside to have a crunchy texture. Very good. I made a second batch subbing 1/2 sour cream, 1/2 plain yogurt for the buttermilk and added some sharp cheese. New Fav biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This makes a terrific not so sweet biscuit for the sweet strawberries and the cream. Delicious! I like pound cake but prefer this old fashion cake like biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Recipe Group 5/19/12. The buttermilk gave a normal biscuit some moistness. And added a little more flavor. The turbinado sugar was a great bonus. I enjoyed those bites. Shortcake was done at 15 min to a light brown. I stored shortcake in plastic baggie and they stayed moist and tasted better the 2nd day. Made single dishes one day with chocolate sauce on bottom (yum)and a small platter for 4 the next. Great classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
perfect biscuit recipe....makes them light & airy. don't work the dough too much, drop biscuits are great. the strawberry mash is perfect. loved it all. i didn't use cream to top all of the biscuits, they tasted the same to me either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
easy, moist and delicious!! I used buttermilk on top because thats what i had on hand and they still turned out really yummy! I've added this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States