Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
We really enjoyed this. Cut the recipe in half for 6 servings and it worked out great. Tender, moist shortcakes with a pleasant crunch from the sanding sugar (did not have turbinado sugar). I will watch the baking time a little closer next time. Delicious at 15 minutes but I will pull them at 13 - 14 min when we have these again. I would also suggest making these close to serving time. The leftovers were not nearly as tender the next day. I am always looking for super fast, easy recipes that taste and present like you have spent more time preparing and this is a great example. Looking forward to trying all types of fresh fruit this spring and summer with this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
easy, moist and delicious!! I used buttermilk on top because thats what i had on hand and they still turned out really yummy! I've added this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
So far, I made the biscuit and it was awesome! Can't wait until we put the strawberries on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
What a simple, easy, and delicious dessert! I had some buttermilk I had to use up and this was just perfect. For the shortcakes, I froze the butter and grated it which is much easier. After dropping these onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and did an egg wash (one egg well beaten with 1 Tbsp. of water) and then topped it off with the turbinado sugar which provided a nice little crunch. These baked up beautifully and tasted wonderful. I served them with "Easy Whipped Cream" from this site. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic! These are light, wonderful shortcake biscuits. The only changes I made to the recipe was to decrease the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and I used white sugar on top of the biscuits because I did not have turbinado sugar. Just ate one with my strawberries and these are delicious! A must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Amazing. This was a perfect way to end a good meal. Make sure you use unsalted butter or omit the salt. Also if you don't have buttermilk add 1 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk. Let stand for 5 minutes before using. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This makes a terrific not so sweet biscuit for the sweet strawberries and the cream. Delicious! I like pound cake but prefer this old fashion cake like biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
They came out great, but the recipe didn't call for any eggs witch I thought was odd...so I added 2 and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
perfect biscuit recipe....makes them light & airy. don't work the dough too much, drop biscuits are great. the strawberry mash is perfect. loved it all. i didn't use cream to top all of the biscuits, they tasted the same to me either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great simple, easy and delicious recipe. I sliced some of the strawberries ahead of time in order for the juice to form. The only ingredient change I made was to sprinkle with light brown sugar instead of turbinado. A word of caution, watch the baking time. While the recipe does not require whipped cream, I did add it on the side. Going in my favorite recipe file. Thanks Emmie4life for sharing your recipe here on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States