Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious! I modified recipe down to 4 biscuits and it was great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Oh, my!! This turned out to be one of the best desserts I have ever made! And I bake a lot!! I read a few of the reviews, and borrowed tips from a couple of them. I didn't have unsalted butter, only stick margarine,so.....I used this with complete success and left the salt out of the recipe. Someone also suggested freezing the butter and shred it. Worked nicely, really is easier than a pastry blender. I also swapped out the buttermilk with plain yogurt and sour cream, using half of each to make the right amount. That sounds confusing, so...for example if your recipe calls for 2/3 cup of buttermilk, use 1/3 cup plain yogurt, and 1/3 cup of sour cream. I also added approx. 3 TBS whipping cream. I also didn't have the specialty sugar, so used granulated instead, brushing the biscuits with whipping cream and sprinkling the sugar. Placed dough in 1/3 cup measuring cup, to shape the biscuits. I baked these for the full 15 minutes, the biscuits were tender, slightly sweet, and perfect with the strawberries, but as an added taste treat, I halved fresh blueberries and added them to the sliced strawberries, then sugared them and added lemon juice. Heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
So delicious!! I went strawberry picking yesterday and was looking for a good shortcake recipe. My husband and I agreed that this is a keeper. Biscuit is shortbread-like, moist, and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've always had strawberry shortcake made with pound cake, sponge cake or angel food cake - never with this sweet biscuit/scone like "cake." In addition to the turbinado sugar I gave them a good sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I've had issues making shortcakes in the past. These are so easy and tasty, my husband likes them as just a biscuit. Not too sweet and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Rettger Hukill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacombe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very good recipe! My brother-in-law showed up this afternoon for dinner carrying a full flat of strawberries! I popped on AllRecipes.com and chose this recipe! Super easy, quick and most yummy! Thanks for posting this recipe. :) Oh, and I love the one review that talks about freezing the butter and then grating it into the flour mixture. GREAT TIP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I liked it but it wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I love the bisquick shortcake but I am trying to get away from prepared foods and this one sounded like it might come close. It does have good flavor just a different texture than what I was hoping for but that just might be it coming from scratch. This is my shortcake recipe until I find something I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe. I added about 1/4 cup more buttermilk and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream and regular white sugar instead of turb sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! You must try this recipe, it was super quick. My batter turned out a bit dry, so I used 1 1/2 cups buttermilk. I used my food processor to cut in the butter and used frozen strawberries. Got rave reviews at the neighborhood potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Whipped this up tonight and loved it! I didn't have any turbinado sugar or heavy whipping cream but regular sugar and milk worked great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensirmans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States