Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is THE BEST shortcake recipe I've ever had! I was impressed with the light, fluffy texture which is amazing because I tend to like the dense shortcakes. This simply melts in your mouth. I baked them on the rack above middle to keep the bottoms of the shortcakes from browning too much. I also liked measuring out the dough as the 1/3c seems to be a perfect portion. I ended up having to add more buttermilk, but that is probably due to climate. I also just brushed with buttermilk since I already had it out. As for the berries, I did blackberry-strawberry since these needed to be eaten soon. I also added some opened champagne to the berries and let sit overnight. It helped give more juice and and incredible flavor. THANKS for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
lovely recipe. My personal preference is cut out biscuits so I kneaded more flour into them the second time I made them and they turned out perfect. They were also great as drop biscuits, I just prefer the cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good. A little salty because I used salted butter, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were delicious! I just used the biscuit recipe though. I don't like syrupy strawberries, so I just used plain sliced fresh strawberries instead. Also, I served this with whipped cream (obviously, without the syrup it would have been too dry otherwise!). The biscuit part was very good though. I didn't bother with the cream/sugar on top of the biscuits, but I'm sure it would have been even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Wonderful!! I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substituted. I did 3 TBS vinegar with milk added to equal 1 cup, let sit 10 min. and voila!, buttermilk.(I use this sub. for anytime I have no buttermilk on hand) They came out so tasty, my in-laws loved them after dinner. I did not alter the ingredients but made my own whipped cream to top with. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like desserts that are too sweet, so I thought this might be a good option. I made it without brushing the tops of the biscuits before baking, and it turned out great! I also only made 1/4 of the recipe, because I didn't need 12 biscuits for just the 2 of us. The texture was perfect!! The inside was soft, and the outside had a delicious crunch to it. I paired it with frozen mixed berries, because I didn't want to make a trip to town for fresh strawberries. The berries in combination with that crunch were just amazing. Ask my husand... he listended to me rave about it the entire time we were eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! The ingredient substitutions I made were health conscious ones such as using evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar, organic butter, sea salt, and whole wheat pastry flour. Baking for only 13 minutes was perfect, and freezing and then grating the butter as was suggested by another reviewer worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious! I modified recipe down to 4 biscuits and it was great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Classic Strawberry Shortcake

Discover Chef John's family recipe for this iconic summer classic.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States