Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Perfect biscuit-y shortbread recipe! I'm definitely a food processor person for cutting in, but do pour it into a bowl before you add your buttermilk, as the dough ends up being very sticky. You'd leave a ton behind in the processor bowl/blade. I make 8-9 big shortbreads, and keep the baking time at 15-16 mins max (even less if you actually make 12).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to make! Everyone thought they were delicious. Will definitely make them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a very good dessert biscuit. Washing the top with heavy cream is I think better than an egg wash. Then topping with a generous dusting of turbanado made the tops beautifully brown, sweet and crispy. What else could you ask for. These went with sweetened strawberries and sweetened heavy whipping cream flavored with a little cognac. Ooo la la
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DW
Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made these for my sister and her family. I used the food prossessor to cut the butter in. I used a little less than a teaspoon of salt. I needed more buttermilk. Our personal preference was not to put cream and sugar on the top. Everybody loved them. We made them 3 times in one week! We did do our own thing with the berries and made whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is THE BEST shortcake recipe I've ever had! I was impressed with the light, fluffy texture which is amazing because I tend to like the dense shortcakes. This simply melts in your mouth. I baked them on the rack above middle to keep the bottoms of the shortcakes from browning too much. I also liked measuring out the dough as the 1/3c seems to be a perfect portion. I ended up having to add more buttermilk, but that is probably due to climate. I also just brushed with buttermilk since I already had it out. As for the berries, I did blackberry-strawberry since these needed to be eaten soon. I also added some opened champagne to the berries and let sit overnight. It helped give more juice and and incredible flavor. THANKS for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
lovely recipe. My personal preference is cut out biscuits so I kneaded more flour into them the second time I made them and they turned out perfect. They were also great as drop biscuits, I just prefer the cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good. A little salty because I used salted butter, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were delicious! I just used the biscuit recipe though. I don't like syrupy strawberries, so I just used plain sliced fresh strawberries instead. Also, I served this with whipped cream (obviously, without the syrup it would have been too dry otherwise!). The biscuit part was very good though. I didn't bother with the cream/sugar on top of the biscuits, but I'm sure it would have been even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States