Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a simple, delicious recipe. So tender that one slid off the baking sheet coming out of the oven and broke apart on hitting the oven floor and began scorching immediately! Literally melt in your mouth. Special treat for my newly retired husband tonight. YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was out of Bisquick, so I looked up this highly rated shortcake. It has a great tender texture because of the butter and buttermilk. One reviewer said to leave out the salt if you use salted butter and I did. I wouldn't leave it out next time-- I think it needed it. Nevertheless, it was yummy! I rolled the dough out into a square shape, cut the dough into equal sized pieces and placed them close together on the baking sheet-- a lot like you would for scones. It baked up beautifully in 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Biscuits came out golden brown in 15 minutes. Wonderful recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Tasted like biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
These turned out fantastic. Nobody wanted to want for the strawberry preparation so I had to make a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I grew up eating Bisquick strawberry shortcake and wanted something that might be similar. This is so good! With freshly picked strawberries and the whipped cream from this site, it couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Yes. The entire effort, with homemade whipped cream, took about 20 minutes, including cleanup, and made an incredible dessert. Follow the recipe verbatim. If you have a stick blender (immersion blender) you can use that to "cut" the butter into the flour mixture, which saves some time. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Simple & delicious! I followed the recipe as written and loved it. I baked for the minimum 15 minutes & the shortcakes were perfect. My family loved these & no doubt they'll become a favorite dessert during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Perfect biscuit-y shortbread recipe! I'm definitely a food processor person for cutting in, but do pour it into a bowl before you add your buttermilk, as the dough ends up being very sticky. You'd leave a ton behind in the processor bowl/blade. I make 8-9 big shortbreads, and keep the baking time at 15-16 mins max (even less if you actually make 12).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to make! Everyone thought they were delicious. Will definitely make them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States