Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was my first attempt at shortcake and these turned out perfect! My family raved about how delicious they were. I made a few changes: didn't have buttermilk so mixed whole milk with 2TBS of vinegar and let it sour for a few mins. I added a tsp of vanilla extract (this is what really made them for me), and added about one extra tablespoon of sugar. They were so good that I made them the next day and added chocolate chips to them. Mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for our 4th of July BBQ. It was a HUGE hit! I didn't have unsalted butter, so I used regular butter and cut the salt in half and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very tasty shortcake, didn't have any problems except that the bottoms of the biscuits were overdone but that might just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a simple, delicious recipe. So tender that one slid off the baking sheet coming out of the oven and broke apart on hitting the oven floor and began scorching immediately! Literally melt in your mouth. Special treat for my newly retired husband tonight. YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was out of Bisquick, so I looked up this highly rated shortcake. It has a great tender texture because of the butter and buttermilk. One reviewer said to leave out the salt if you use salted butter and I did. I wouldn't leave it out next time-- I think it needed it. Nevertheless, it was yummy! I rolled the dough out into a square shape, cut the dough into equal sized pieces and placed them close together on the baking sheet-- a lot like you would for scones. It baked up beautifully in 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Biscuits came out golden brown in 15 minutes. Wonderful recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Tasted like biscuits. Nothing special. I'll keep looking for a better way to serve my fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
These turned out fantastic. Nobody wanted to want for the strawberry preparation so I had to make a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I grew up eating Bisquick strawberry shortcake and wanted something that might be similar. This is so good! With freshly picked strawberries and the whipped cream from this site, it couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States