Buttermilk Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I didn't find that it tasted like cheesecake at all despite following the recipe. It tastes like buttermilk which isn't an overly pleasing taste since it dominates the shake. It was different than any type of shake I have made which was one of the reasons I was eager to try this. I personally won't make it again. It was good and it wasn't bad, just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was good. I actually was able to drink buttermilk without tasting the buttermilk per se. I really did like the lemon zest...and if you are thinking of tweaking at all, don't skip the zest. I came back to give this the 5th star today, as I've had a 1/4 of this recipe three times now in five days. So, something tells me it's a taste you may have to cozy up to. Today I added some sliced frozen strawberries to the whirl...definitely shades of cheesecake going on with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and I used Turkey Hill vanilla bean ice cream. Because I wanted a thicker shake, I only used half of the buttermilk called for in a halved recipe. AWESOME. Great bad day recipe. I already feel better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
this is more toward tasting like buttermilk than ice cream even though i added MUCH more than was asked for. wouldn't make again, but am glad i tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janel Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I was inspired by this recipe to make a cookie dough and buttermilk milk shake. IT WAS SOOOOOO GOOD! Thanks for the idea:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! this is, as they say, like "cheesecake in a glass!!!" a new favorite naughty indulgence... breakfast daily, i say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was surprisingly tasty. Only 4 stars instead of 5 because the buttermilk taste was a bit sharp, but some tweaking with more ice cream or milk would even it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Delicious! I made this with what few ingredients I can find in China...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget L. Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States