Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Very good moist hearty bread. I also added caraway and anise seed, it seems you can't add to many seeds to this bread! This bread is really great toasted, you don't even really need butter the flavor stands on it's own. You can substitute maple syrup and maple sugar for the honey and white sugar for a nice subtle maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Followed recipe exactly with very satisfying results. The poppy seeds are a good addition that isn't part if most other recipes. Texture holds up well for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent bread. Best wheat bread I've ever made. My 9 year old asked for seed bread like Corner Bakery's Harvest Bread and this was a good approximation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Best bread I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willits, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I make this bread on a weekly basis. I use 1/4 cup of milled flax seeds. I brush the bread with butter as soon as it comes out of the oven for a nice soft crust. This bread is even approved by my two year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very nice bread! Very nutty and full of goodness from the seeds and whole wheat, yet it's soft and chewy enough to satisfy the bf. This one is definitely one I can make again to make both of us happy! I had to add about 1/4 c of water, but it was a tad dryer here than normal, so no big. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Really good but I added too much flour so was not very soft - will try again because the flavour was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful moist, chewy, and flavorful bread. I cook the bread on a flat sheet instead of in a bread pan for a crustier loaf. I found that I need to add about 1/2 cup more flour and reduce heat to 350, cooking loaves for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
i made two kinds of bread today this was my second and another five star bread recipe...it turned out lite and not dense (i used vital wheat gluten) and so yummy for a seed bread...will forsure make it again...did it all in the bread machine with great results...thanks for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This makes an evenly textured and denser loaf of bread. I really liked the seeds and nuts. Although I didn't have flax seeds, I just increased the other three to make up for it. My changes were to use butter instead of margarine, use a bread maker "dough" cycle to make the dough, increase the second rise time, and bake at 350 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States