Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Always looking for the best bread and I think I've finally found it. This really has a great texture, is moist and keeps (if you aren't tempted to eat it all at once!). Good both plain and toasted. I did find that using two cups of whole wheat flour and three cups of bread flour were enough. Perhaps because of this, there wasn't enough for two full loaves and I made one large loaf and 6 muffin-pan rolls. Have made the recipe twice so far. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Great Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haris Catur Nugroho

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Very good moist hearty bread. I also added caraway and anise seed, it seems you can't add to many seeds to this bread! This bread is really great toasted, you don't even really need butter the flavor stands on it's own. You can substitute maple syrup and maple sugar for the honey and white sugar for a nice subtle maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Followed recipe exactly with very satisfying results. The poppy seeds are a good addition that isn't part if most other recipes. Texture holds up well for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent bread. Best wheat bread I've ever made. My 9 year old asked for seed bread like Corner Bakery's Harvest Bread and this was a good approximation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Best bread I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willits, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I make this bread on a weekly basis. I use 1/4 cup of milled flax seeds. I brush the bread with butter as soon as it comes out of the oven for a nice soft crust. This bread is even approved by my two year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very nice bread! Very nutty and full of goodness from the seeds and whole wheat, yet it's soft and chewy enough to satisfy the bf. This one is definitely one I can make again to make both of us happy! I had to add about 1/4 c of water, but it was a tad dryer here than normal, so no big. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Really good but I added too much flour so was not very soft - will try again because the flavour was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wonderful moist, chewy, and flavorful bread. I cook the bread on a flat sheet instead of in a bread pan for a crustier loaf. I found that I need to add about 1/2 cup more flour and reduce heat to 350, cooking loaves for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States