Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Good basic recipe. Allows you to be creative with flavors. I tried making it with raisanettes in the center. I also tried blueberries. But I really liked the raisanettes one. Nothing like warm scones with melty gooey chocolate raisans in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dance Kitty Cat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added 2 handfuls of shredded Mexican cheese. But.. You can't taste it.. So I melted some butter, painted it on top on of the scones. Then I sprinkled white sugar on top. Keeps them from tasting so dry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dance Kitty Cat
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made them with cheese and italian herbs and they looked beautiful and tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
After being subjected to multiple, far too sweet scones (curse you Starbucks), I was pleased to find a recipe that allowed me to choose between sweet and savory scones. Overall, it was good, but a few problems: 1. This is not really the right texture for a scone. It's more like a southern biscuit without the buttery-ness. 2. WAY too much baking powder. It ended up giving my biscuit-scone a bitter aftertaste. I was able to ameliorate the issue by eating it with some jam, but was unable to enjoy it by itself. This is tragic as these things are my grab-n-go breakfast. 3. Thank goodness I followed my instincts and used a 2" diameter cookie cutter to make mini-scones. These guys fluffed up so much that they would have been behemoths if I had gone with the suggested size. I'm willing to give this recipe another go! I just think I'll reduce the amount of baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I needed to get rid of all the buttermilk I had leftover from another recipe so I doubled everything but lessened the Baking Powder by 2 1.5 tbs and added 2/3 cup of sugar and currants. Yielded 16 very large scones. Will try adding cheddar cheese or herbs next time. Excellent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is a great base for scones, although I read reviews and decided to reduce the baking soda to 2tsp. It was golden on the top and moist in the middle, more cakey less crumbly, bake time was 11 min on a pizza stone and they were delicious! I made two kinds of scones:1/2 cup white chocolate chips with 1/4 cup craisins; and 1/4 cup slivered almonds with 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Next time I try this recipe I will use huckleberries and lemon. A very simple and very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was ok but I am still searching for the perfect scones. They were really moist but dense. These are more like biscuits. I added 2 shredded apples, a few dashes of nutmeg, and 1 tsp cinnamon. They wouldn't brown on the tops so I put them on broil for the last few minutes. And I also added more sugar. The taste was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
2 TEASPOONS of baking powder (not TABLESPOONS)! I used 2 tsp and the scones rose nicely. You don't need all that sour taste. Other than that, a perfect base recipe that you can make sweet or savory. Will use many times again. My toddler loves these scones with some sugar, cranberries and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I added a little sugar and blueberries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States