Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
They are moister than most scones, but left a bad aftertaste in my mouth. 2 tablespoons of baking powder seems like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeRishGrl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
When I first saw the recipe I note that this recipe do not have sugar added to it but otherwise all the ingredient I have in hand and I am glad that I did add sugar and it was good and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Although I added dried cranberries (which were delicious), everyone I served these to asked me to add sugar next time. They also needed to cook for a lot longer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is another great base recipe. Food is as bland as you make it, folks...If you want something to munch on with tea or coffee, maybe smear with a jam and butter, this recipe on it's own is fine. If you want something full of flavor and WOW, you are going to have to add that to it. I mean, come on, the recipe is nothing but WHITE things mixed together! That alone tells you that the final outcome is going to be less than zippy. I made these scones for Christmas Eve dinner. I started with the basic recipe and added savory herbs, cracked pepper, and garlic salt. FANTASTIC! I have found the perfect "biscuit". I will make these again and again and they will never be bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Really bland, not flavorful at all. I added chocolate and cinnamon chips, and even a little allspice, and they still weren't very good. I probably wont make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This recipe is wonderful! I made 140 scones for a ladies tea at my church. I used a flower shaped cookie cutter, brushed tops with whole, beaten eggs and sprinkled with coarse sugar. All the ladies raved about them! I think the buttermilk helped to give them an "extra-special" flavor. These were not too dry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
The texture of these scones was nice, but they were bland to my taste. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These scones are delicious. My daughter loved them and asks for them often. I wouldn't change a thing. I served them on Christmas morning using a angel shaped cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I threw in a cup of blueberries. Topped with marscapone cheese, these were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this recipe twice now, and I love it. What's more, my German mother-in-law wants me to translate it for her, too! Very easy to make, I use the "drop" method. Not so dry as other scones I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States