Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My best friend is a scone "snob" having grown up with an Irish grandmother who was straight off the boat and made scones that everyone loved. These scones, while not just like Grandma's, definitely met with the seal of approval. I thought they were good, but they tasted like buttermilk biscuits to me. I think that the next batch is going to get a spoonful of sugar to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I've made this twice, 1st time I added pecans, yum! My husband asked me to make them w/o butter, so I did the following: 1/4 cup more buttermilk, a little less than 1/3 cup Sunflower oil & I baked them for the full 15 minutes. Not as yummy w/o butter, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcessar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Yum! I admit I did change the recipe by adding 3T. sugar, 3/4 c. dried cranberries and 1T. orange zest. But, these are so easy. I just patted mine into a circle and cut into triangles with a pizza cutter. They turned out great, and they are lower in butter/fat than most scone recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Ingredients edited by the Allrecipes staff on 9/22/2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I enjoyed trying this recipe. I love scones so I had to try it out. They came out pretty good, but as someone pointed out there's too much baking powder. The scones came out more fluffy then I'm accustomed to. I'm going to try it with 2tsp of baking powder instead of 2tbs. I also added 1/2 c sugar, to sweeten the scone. It turned out wonderfully other then the cake like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These are great and so easy to make! For sweet scones just add 1/4 - 1/2 cup sugar depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Yum! Love these! Bake up nice and high. Not a sweet dough. Very, very easy to make. Don't overmix! I add currants or raisins and sprinkle a tiny bit of superfine sugar on top as soon as they are out of the oven. Serve with tea and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I cut my scones, and found out I probably should have divided the dough into three balls. Oops! The poofed up, but are delicious non the less. I added about two tbs of Lemon zest and ginger, and it made this recipe even better! Next time, I think I'll add a bit more sugar though, or a bit less baking power.(a bit too salty for my taste, as I usually eat scones without jam.) Thanks for the recipe Bev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
It seems there might be too much flour in these scones because they became really pastey in my mouth. My fiance loved them though. I didn't roll out the dough, but instead used my hands to roll a fistfull of dough into balls. So maybe they were too thick. I might try to add other flavours to these scones next time and maybe reduce the flour and add a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i'm a newbie when it comes to cooking or baking ... or anything to do with the kitchen at all. :p but this recipe is pretty easy. i didn't have buttermilk, so i added about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to whole milk as a substitute. i also added about a cup of raisins. i think it turned out pretty ok. it tastes a whole lot better if you eat it with strawberry jam. :) oh, i think you have to let it sit for a while before baking the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States