Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I made these in the kitchen at the institution where I work and they were all the rave. I received nothing but compliments and requests for the recipe. And, I am the chief scientist not a chef, so anyone can make these special. I added various cheeses to some with italian herbs, cheeses with Montreal steak spice with others, some were plain moist and tender, some made with sugar, raw brown sugar, Splenda (for the diabetics), fresh fruit, etc. I incorporated sugar into the flour mixture and(saskatoon berry) jam into the melted butter and buttermilk mixture in one batch. This changed the consistency of the dough somewhat, but they were still delicious. This recipe also freezes and reheats well. P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penelope Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made the recipe as directed, adding lemon zest and poppy seeds. These are more like American bicuits than scones. Plain scones are generally bland, so that was to be expected, but the density and texture was not right. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I questioned 2 tablespons of baking powder. It turned out well. I added nuts and chopped apricots. It was a sticky dough so I used drop method and patted dollops down on baking sheets. I will bake this again because it is simple to prepare and is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
was not sweet at all, didn't know that in the recipe. Needed to add sugar and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a wonderful basic scone recipe. Tastes yummy with some butter and jam! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great basis for a scone recipe...I add 2 Tbsp of sugar to give it a little more flavor, and about a 1 1/2 cups of fresh fruit, like blueberries or apples added before the wet ingredients are mixed in (otherwise it is very hard to get them mixed in the dough) With apples I also add about 2 tsp of cinnamon, which makes some beautiful scones! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These are more like buttermilk biscuits. They are definitely not scones. I would make these again and have them as a dinner biscuit. These are listed under the wrong heading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I am actually rating these for my mom who made them. She followed the advice of another reviewer and filled the centers of these with seedless blackberry jam. She also glazed them with a sweet lemon glaze. She said that while these turned out very good she thinks they would be very bland without the filling and glaze. The person who posted the recipe makes clear that it's a good basic recipe to which you can (and probably should) add your own additional flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I thought these were great! I manage a farmers' market and inherited a whole flat of strawberries I needed to use stat, and used this basic recipe, diced up a bunch of strawberries and topped with a little sugar before I baked them. They were fluffy, delicious, and not too sweet. My husband shouted from the other room "I can't stop eating these scooones!" I love recipes that are simple to make and easy to adjust to what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I love this recipe and I make these scones pretty often. I usually add some different things into the mix, sometimes black currants and walnuts, sometimes cranberries and pecans, but regardless of what I add, they're delicious every time. They really lend themselves to tweaking, which is nice. Plus they're super easy to make and they are ready in ten minutes! I also recently discovered that they can be toasted in a regular toaster, so I love warming them up and eating them with a little marionberry jam in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States