Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Love anything with buttermilk. This recipe provides the basic scone which I dress up with grated lemon, dried fruits, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I am a lover of scones, and these little goodies made my Sunday morning! I dropped them (about 2 Tbs. of batter) on cookie sheets instead of cutting. These are so good warm with butter and jam! Very light and tasty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe! Really quick and easy. However, I prefer to drop the scones onto the baking sheet by spoonfulls instead of cutting the scones out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escalon, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
Didn't have much taste to it. Even when cheese was added. I'm adding another scones recipe I found and made in to the recipe book. That one is much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is another great base recipe. Food is as bland as you make it, folks...If you want something to munch on with tea or coffee, maybe smear with a jam and butter, this recipe on it's own is fine. If you want something full of flavor and WOW, you are going to have to add that to it. I mean, come on, the recipe is nothing but WHITE things mixed together! That alone tells you that the final outcome is going to be less than zippy. I made these scones for Christmas Eve dinner. I started with the basic recipe and added savory herbs, cracked pepper, and garlic salt. FANTASTIC! I have found the perfect "biscuit". I will make these again and again and they will never be bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I think there must be a misprint in this recipe 2 TABLESPOONS baking powder is way too much. I used 2 teaspoons and was very pleased. Scones are supposed to be bland but if you like a sweeter one add some sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made several batches of these for my hubbies breakfast meeting. I filled them with different types of jam, then baked them. They were sort of hand rolled, not really "dropped", as I had to close all the seams, so most of the jam would stay inside while baking. They were so good, it was difficult allowing enough to leave with him to work. My teenager, has requested we make these again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I liked this recipe a lot. It was easy & quick to make & I got 12 instead of 8. I did have to add a little more Buttermilk than it called for, but they were light & fluffy & I will make them again. My Husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I made this recipe twice now, and I love it. What's more, my German mother-in-law wants me to translate it for her, too! Very easy to make, I use the "drop" method. Not so dry as other scones I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Ingredients edited by the Allrecipes staff on 9/22/2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States