Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I did not rate this recipe as highly because it was not even slightly sweet as a scone should be. Try adding some Splenda to make it more appealing. Also, the texture was a bit dry. Maybe a little applesauce wouldn't be amiss?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzweex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made several batches of these for my hubbies breakfast meeting. I filled them with different types of jam, then baked them. They were sort of hand rolled, not really "dropped", as I had to close all the seams, so most of the jam would stay inside while baking. They were so good, it was difficult allowing enough to leave with him to work. My teenager, has requested we make these again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were my first attempt at scones. I pressed the dough out on a sheet of baking paper and cut scones into pieces, then transferred the cut scones on the paper directly to the baking sheet. No flour mess that way. I, like some other reviewers, only used 2 tsp of baking powder instead of 2 Tbs. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I found this to be a healthy snack alternative. I added dried blueberries and they tasted great on its own and even better with some jam and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I think there must be a misprint in this recipe 2 TABLESPOONS baking powder is way too much. I used 2 teaspoons and was very pleased. Scones are supposed to be bland but if you like a sweeter one add some sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I added blueberries, and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
They are moister than most scones, but left a bad aftertaste in my mouth. 2 tablespoons of baking powder seems like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeRishGrl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
When I first saw the recipe I note that this recipe do not have sugar added to it but otherwise all the ingredient I have in hand and I am glad that I did add sugar and it was good and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Although I added dried cranberries (which were delicious), everyone I served these to asked me to add sugar next time. They also needed to cook for a lot longer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is another great base recipe. Food is as bland as you make it, folks...If you want something to munch on with tea or coffee, maybe smear with a jam and butter, this recipe on it's own is fine. If you want something full of flavor and WOW, you are going to have to add that to it. I mean, come on, the recipe is nothing but WHITE things mixed together! That alone tells you that the final outcome is going to be less than zippy. I made these scones for Christmas Eve dinner. I started with the basic recipe and added savory herbs, cracked pepper, and garlic salt. FANTASTIC! I have found the perfect "biscuit". I will make these again and again and they will never be bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States