Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I am actually rating these for my mom who made them. She followed the advice of another reviewer and filled the centers of these with seedless blackberry jam. She also glazed them with a sweet lemon glaze. She said that while these turned out very good she thinks they would be very bland without the filling and glaze. The person who posted the recipe makes clear that it's a good basic recipe to which you can (and probably should) add your own additional flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I thought these were great! I manage a farmers' market and inherited a whole flat of strawberries I needed to use stat, and used this basic recipe, diced up a bunch of strawberries and topped with a little sugar before I baked them. They were fluffy, delicious, and not too sweet. My husband shouted from the other room "I can't stop eating these scooones!" I love recipes that are simple to make and easy to adjust to what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I love this recipe and I make these scones pretty often. I usually add some different things into the mix, sometimes black currants and walnuts, sometimes cranberries and pecans, but regardless of what I add, they're delicious every time. They really lend themselves to tweaking, which is nice. Plus they're super easy to make and they are ready in ten minutes! I also recently discovered that they can be toasted in a regular toaster, so I love warming them up and eating them with a little marionberry jam in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
They were light & flaky, however, completely tasteless! Won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Little effort, big reward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlia Travers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Fast and simple...my family loved them. I did tweak slightly as I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I sub'd non-fat yogurt instead, 1 tbls of baking powder (as I agreed with others that 2 sounded a bit much) and added 1 cup of dried cranberries. Like others I didn't mess with cutting out but did a modified drop version by simply rolling into a ball & patting flat once on the cookie sheet. I've been making, and eating, scones for 20+ years now and this is a great recipe -- easy to remember & add your own special touches. With just one batch this one has moved to the front of my scone list. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe. So many possibilities. I just made my first batch with 3/4 cup raisins, 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and the zest and juice of 1 orange. The dough became a sticky blob. Whoops. So I added another 1/3 cup of flour to make it a dough again. Saved! I then rubbed the orange halves on the tops of the scones and sprinkled with sugar. They came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My best friend is a scone "snob" having grown up with an Irish grandmother who was straight off the boat and made scones that everyone loved. These scones, while not just like Grandma's, definitely met with the seal of approval. I thought they were good, but they tasted like buttermilk biscuits to me. I think that the next batch is going to get a spoonful of sugar to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I've made this twice, 1st time I added pecans, yum! My husband asked me to make them w/o butter, so I did the following: 1/4 cup more buttermilk, a little less than 1/3 cup Sunflower oil & I baked them for the full 15 minutes. Not as yummy w/o butter, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcessar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Yum! I admit I did change the recipe by adding 3T. sugar, 3/4 c. dried cranberries and 1T. orange zest. But, these are so easy. I just patted mine into a circle and cut into triangles with a pizza cutter. They turned out great, and they are lower in butter/fat than most scone recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States