Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
The baking powder called for is far too much for a mere 3 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Aren't they suppsed to be sweet, like the ones at starbucks? I still love them, thus 5 stars.. Hopefully my 2 year old will approve :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Nice scone. Very traditional. Think I'll add some sugar next time for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These scones are delicious - light and airy, buttery goodness! I do add a couple of handfuls of raisins in the mix before baking. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I made these in the kitchen at the institution where I work and they were all the rave. I received nothing but compliments and requests for the recipe. And, I am the chief scientist not a chef, so anyone can make these special. I added various cheeses to some with italian herbs, cheeses with Montreal steak spice with others, some were plain moist and tender, some made with sugar, raw brown sugar, Splenda (for the diabetics), fresh fruit, etc. I incorporated sugar into the flour mixture and(saskatoon berry) jam into the melted butter and buttermilk mixture in one batch. This changed the consistency of the dough somewhat, but they were still delicious. This recipe also freezes and reheats well. P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penelope Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made the recipe as directed, adding lemon zest and poppy seeds. These are more like American bicuits than scones. Plain scones are generally bland, so that was to be expected, but the density and texture was not right. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I questioned 2 tablespons of baking powder. It turned out well. I added nuts and chopped apricots. It was a sticky dough so I used drop method and patted dollops down on baking sheets. I will bake this again because it is simple to prepare and is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
was not sweet at all, didn't know that in the recipe. Needed to add sugar and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a wonderful basic scone recipe. Tastes yummy with some butter and jam! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great basis for a scone recipe...I add 2 Tbsp of sugar to give it a little more flavor, and about a 1 1/2 cups of fresh fruit, like blueberries or apples added before the wet ingredients are mixed in (otherwise it is very hard to get them mixed in the dough) With apples I also add about 2 tsp of cinnamon, which makes some beautiful scones! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States