Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
added much more cheese and a lot of herbs. Turned out denser than I wanted and was a bit bland so probably could have used more salt. Definitely more of a biscuit then scone but was pretty good toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
WOW I just tried these using gluten-free flours and they are AWESOME!!! (sifted 2 c sorghum flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch, 1/2 c potato starch, flat 1/2 tsp xanthan gum) I also added 2 TBSP powdered buttermilk to the flours + 2 TBSP white sugar. I also mixed in 2 TBSP lite agave nectar to the buttermilk. I was really careful to just mix the wet with the dry until moistened before I turned it out onto a floured surface, pressed into a rectangle, then cut into triangles. So flavorful! I'm sure it would be just as yummy with regular flour too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Good basic recipe for scones, I keep adding different things to it for some good combos ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yummy and really easy basic scone recipe! Although I had to add extra buttermilk because the dough was a little too dry. They came out perfect! Added chocolate chips for sweetness but you could probably add just about anything to them for any kind of craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
An easy and delicious recipe. While I followed the recipe exactly, I may vary it in the future with grated cheese and/or herbs and/or bacon bits. I paired these scones with the lamb stew (also n Allrecipes) and we had a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Incredibly moist - almost cake like when baked in a scone pan. I used 2 tablespoons of baking powder and topped with cinnamon sugar. Warm with tea- delicious! Much easier than other scone recipes I've seen and the best rave reviews (and I've made a lot of scones). Think of these as cake-like biscuits that can easily go sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Turned out more like a biscuit in my estimation. I added some dried cranberries and orange zest but they were very fluffy (probably due to two TBSP of baking powder). I think a scone is denser than what this turned out to be. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I wanted something sweet so I added 1/2 cup sugar and toffee pieces that I found next to the chocolate chips and knew they needed to be baked into something English. I love making biscuits with the melted butter stirred into the cold buttermilk trick and so was happy to find a similar scone recipe. I look forward to making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I loves the scones. Next time I will add some fruit or nuts be they are perfect plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made them with whole wheat flour so they were heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States