Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yummy! I made half a batch and used strawberry Jell-o. It was quite tasty, much better than plain Jell-o. I may even try to make it without the fruit (but add fruit juice) so it's smooth because my fiance wasn't a huge fan of the pineapple. It would be like a mousse without the pineapple. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by mama2
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was GREAT!! Everyone loved it. I did make some changes as others suggested. I used lime and cherry jello (to give it a different color) I also added 1/2 cup of walnuts. I had NO leftovers. I will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very easy to make, can be modified by type of gelatin and the addition of nuts. Even folks who express their hate for buttermilk will be singing a new tune when they eat this light, fluffy, cloud of a sidedish/dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is fantastic. I'm not much of a jello salad fan & every year my husband wats one for Thanksgiving & Christmas dinners. Last year I tried this at Christmas & it was a HUGE hit. There was very little leftover & what there was left over was gone the next day! I'm making it for Thanksgiving this year .....and probably Christmas too...thanks for saving me from trying a hundred other salads :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Quite yummy! I added walnuts to give it some texture and substituted a 7 oz canister of whipped cream for the Cool Whip. I wouldn't really call it salad as it's sweet and more like dessert to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have made this recipe for years now and we still loveit. People are very surprised to learn that it contains buttermilk. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was very good and I will definitely make it again! However it isn't very "pretty" so I will serve it with fresh peach slices as garnish on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this for a family gathering and everyone loved it. I asked them to guess the ingredients. No one could guess the buttermilk. I am going to try this with different flavors of jello. My husband loves jello salads/desserts, so I am trying new recipes. Thanks, for this one. I will use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe and wonderfully easy to make. I used orange jello and it was excellent. There's nothing gourmet about Jello...but I'll tell ya, my family loves it whenever I make it, so what the heck...have some Jello tonight! This recipe is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
the buttermilk gives this salad a little zip, but i thought it was overall a pretty boring salad with just crushed pineapple. i would add some mandarin oranges and red grapes if i were to make it again. used peach jello. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States