Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Make sure you use the larger Jello packet. I didn't and it didn't gel like it should have but the flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I love this salad. I made it with mango jello & would love to make it with the pina colada jello if it were available more than seasonally. It is super easy to make & is good for a salad or dessert. It does not taste like buttermilk at all. My salad set up more like a jello than the creamy version in the picture. 9-8-13 - I've made this with one 3-oz package of pineapple Jell-O & one 3-oz package of tropical Jell-O mixed together & this is my favorite flavor combination so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Used peach jello. Was absolutely delicious. And so very easy. DH and I fought over the last bit. Then we went out next day to buy ingredients to make more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edinburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I love this recipe. I used raspberry jello and added 1 cup chopped pecans. This is going to my recipe box as tried and tested...5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynjoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years.. the only difference is I add the buttermilk after the Jello is dissolved in the pan, then put the saucepan in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes to thicken, then fold in the Cool Whip...then into a pyrex bowl, covered, to set for 4 hours in the refrigerator.. It depends on the ''season'' as to what flavor Jello I use. At Thanksgiving or Christmas, I'll use 'Cranberry' flavor...It's always a great salad & goes quickly. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I ran across this recipe a few years ago when putting together our Turkey Day menu. Our family has made it every year since. It is simple, and so so yummy!! This year I am switching the pineapple for marnderine oranges. I'm sure it will be just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I was disappointed with this recipe. I used the peach jello. It really was just ok. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is like having dessert in the middle of your meal. Love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is delicious. I only had one 3-ounce box of peach jello so I added a 3-ounce box of raspberry as well. I only had vanilla flavored cool whip on hand but it worked fine. I added a can of drained mandarin oranges as well. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
So good and incredibly simple to make. The only slight change I made was to add just a couple of drops of red food coloring to make it more colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States