Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this recipe using the strawberry jello, and I added a half cup of finely chopped pecans. Very easy to make and it was well received. Light and cool to the taste. A keeper recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a delicious recipe!!! It's tangy and just a little sweet and the pineapple adds nice texture and flavor. I used peach gelatin and added marshmallows. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLINKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is very tasty, however, mine did not set up properly. It was a little runny. The only thing I did differently was to use sugar-free Jell-o. Still worth 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I love this salad! I like that it's tangy and not overly sweet for a jello salad. It molds well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This has long been one of my favorite recipes. It can be altered according to season. Make as is for a lovely springtime salad. Or use raspberry jello and a can of cranberries for a beautiful Thanksgiving or Christmas dish. For a healthier alternative try low-fat buttermilk and fat free Cool Whip. They don't change the flavor at all. Be creative! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Ecellent! It always works and gets raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is my new fave gelatin recipe because it's so easy to prepare, pretty to look at and delicious! I used raspberry Jello and powdered reconstituted buttermilk and it was still great. A quick tip--you don't need to cool completely/let it set up in between additions. Cook the pineapple, add the Jello, and you can immediately add the buttermilk. As soon as it's cool enough to not melt the Cool Whip you can put it all together. I put it in a small/med oiled mold which was a mistake--this makes enough for a 13"x9" pan. However, the mold looked great! All in all, this is a great recipe, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This really surprised me, but it was so good and tangy. Not too sweet to eat a lot of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is an out of this world recipe. This is the exact recipe that my great aunt made since the 40's. If you can taste the buttermilk in this, you have either done something wrong or you have problems with tasting. Everytime I make this I have people asking me for the recipe. This is a fool proof recipe if you follow the direction to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very Good. Nice change. Would have never guessed there was buttermilk in salad. Added 1 can of drained mandarin oranges. Makes a very large dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States