Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shortcut
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
2 cups of buttermilk was a bit too much. The salad did not set firm even after 8 hours. It set enough for scooping but went runny on the plate. I believe less of the milk would help. It was very tasty but I doubt I'll make it again. Also, add something at the stage when you fold in the whipped topping, like chopped nuts or diced strawberries or seedless grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
delicious and easy! I switch up the gelatin flavor from time to time and it's always yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Interesting idea but this dish was lacking something. It was bland, overly sweet and too citrusy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tried this recipe for my birthday celebration. Thought it sounded strange but I figured I would give it a try. Made double the recipe and used peach and mango jello. Huge hit and everyone wanted the recipe. Husband thought it was coconut and was enjoying it until he overheard the word buttermilk. After the initial shock he let his taste buds overrule and really enjoyed his dessert. Cant wait to try with other flavors and maybe nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Love the buttermilk. It was quite sweet though, so next time I plan to try the smaller box of Jell-o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Make sure you use the larger Jello packet. I didn't and it didn't gel like it should have but the flavor is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I love this salad. I made it with mango jello & would love to make it with the pina colada jello if it were available more than seasonally. It is super easy to make & is good for a salad or dessert. It does not taste like buttermilk at all. My salad set up more like a jello than the creamy version in the picture. 9-8-13 - I've made this with one 3-oz package of pineapple Jell-O & one 3-oz package of tropical Jell-O mixed together & this is my favorite flavor combination so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Used peach jello. Was absolutely delicious. And so very easy. DH and I fought over the last bit. Then we went out next day to buy ingredients to make more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edinburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I love this recipe. I used raspberry jello and added 1 cup chopped pecans. This is going to my recipe box as tried and tested...5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynjoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years.. the only difference is I add the buttermilk after the Jello is dissolved in the pan, then put the saucepan in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes to thicken, then fold in the Cool Whip...then into a pyrex bowl, covered, to set for 4 hours in the refrigerator.. It depends on the ''season'' as to what flavor Jello I use. At Thanksgiving or Christmas, I'll use 'Cranberry' flavor...It's always a great salad & goes quickly. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States