Buttermilk Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I made this recipe in my bread machine. It turned out very well--nice texture and a light rye bread taste. I agree with Phyllis's mother; it's just about ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is my favorite rye bread recipe to date. I made only one change, which was to use First Clear Flour instead of bread flour. First Clear Flour (available from Baker's Catalogue, a gread resource for serious bread makers) is described as "the flour NYC bakers have always used for the signature Jewish-style rye breads...in combination with rye flour." Maybe this change will bring this recipe up to your mother's ideal -- who knows?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Nice twist on a rye loaf. I used buttermilk instead of buttermilk powder, so I used the amount of liquid called for (water) by subbing buttermilk instead. I just left out the powdered buttermilk. This makes a loaf that is clearly rye but with a bit of an extra zip. I rarely bake fully in the bread machine, so I did the dough cycle and then baked in the oven at 375 for 40 mins. Turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Very nice bread! I love the wholesome taste of the rye combined with the tang of buttermilk. I added a tiny bit of wheat to mine, too, and about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt that I needed to get rid of. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Best rye bread to come out of the breadmaker yet! I used 1 1/3 cups of buttermilk since I had some to use up instead of the powdered, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled terrific while baking. The caraway seed really punched up what I think of as rye flavor. I will try adding that to my other rye bread recipe and see if it helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I baked this in a covered clay baker for 40 min. at 400 degrees. Used the dough cycle, let rise in the baker, then covered it and baked in the oven. Nice light rye flavor and very light in texture. I love it!!! I don't usually bake white bread and like wheat or rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
The bread came out fine...but I wasn't "wowed". I've tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I loved the texture and tangy flavor of this loaf. I added 1 tsp. dough enhancer to the dough and shaped and baked it in a 350 degree F. oven for 35 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a nice combo of the traditional buttermilk and rye breads, light in color but crusty like rye bread. I made this in the KA mixer, and the only thing that I would do differently next time would be to add more caraway seeds to suit our tastes. Wouldn't call it either soft or dense but, perhaps, firm would be a good description of the bread. It does make nice sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This is a really nice rye bread from a bread machine. Don't think hard rye, think moist soft rye with a nice chew to the crust and a really good crumb (used regular white cycle with light crust selected). I first made this some months ago and made a note that it was an easy recipe with nice outcome. I myself a note to try again. I made this recipe again yesterday and after a test slice with butter was forced to go to the store for some deli ham, swiss, a bit of salami, and some hot mustard. This bread just SCREAMS sandwich me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States