Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was very heavy and extremely sweet. Definitely reduce the sugar and a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Ang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
EXCELLENT, my first cake ever and was a success ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love the moist texture. I used the juice of one lemon, since I didn't have lemon extract. I'm glad that I heeded the advice of other reviewers and checked for doneness at 60 minutes; my cake was done after 70 minutes. However, it was a bit too sweet for my liking. I will make this again, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, and overall, the cake was super moist and flavorful. The only thing I would tweak is the amount of sugar the recipe called for; it was a tad too sweet for my palate. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The crust is crisp and chewy - oh so good. Texture of the cake is just like my grandmother made. I used 3 tsp of lemon extract and 1/2 of vanilla to give it a stronger lemon flavor. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
this pound cake had a good texture and taste but was a tad dry. i had used 2 teaspoons of vanilla but had no lemon so i added a tablespoon of orange juice. next time will add a little more juice or some sour cream. it was all eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Garner Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Reduced sugar by half and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby zuby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I bet the butter and sugar little longer with each egg I didn't have butter milk I just use milk it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanavia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Schena
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Nice dense pound cake. I followed exactly and it has nice flavor. I baked in the tube pan recommended and it only took 1 hour and fifteen minutes. Watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Schena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this recipe last night and it was FANTASTIC!!! I had some left over buttermilk and came across this recipe...and I'm so happy I tried it! Its moist....sweet...goodness. I will probably pair it up with some lemon glaze (Giadas lemon glaze for her lemon cookies). I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States