Buttermilk Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I think this would be a great recipe for those that loves buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This pound cake is abosolutely divine. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lanie60
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious cake and so easy to make. I baked mine at 350 degrees for approx. 45 minutes. It came out moist. I would not change the recipe as we thought it very good. Served it with fresh strawberries and a dollop of cool whip...Although it would be great with out the additional garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I loved this cake! I had no shortening so, I used butter instead and set oven to 350. Brought cake in to share with co-workers and they loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious!! I will make this again, followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe...i increased the buttermilk by about a couple of tablespoons and i didnt have any lemon extract so i added a couple teaspoons of lemon zest a little pineapple extract for flavor...was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance451

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This one's a keeper. I was in a hurry, so I substituted self-rising flour, but added an extra 1/4 tsp. baking soda (because of the buttermilk). I decreased the flour by 1/4 cup and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is one great, easy recipe! I followed the recipe ingredients with only one exception: I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening (butter flavored) because it just isn't pound cake without the butter. I used this recipe to make cupcakes with what I had on hand, and they're WONDERFUL. Not too sweet, a slight lemon-vanilla flavor (without adding any vanilla), and the perfect base for my lemon buttercream icing. These were the hit of the cupcake table at our store's weekend sale/open house. NOTE: With the baking powder/soda/buttermilk combo these really rose. Fill cupcake liners only 1/2 full for perfectly sized cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
It was good but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is your standard buttermilk pound cake. I used butter instead of shortening and do add two more eggs to increase the moistness. I also added 2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1 Tbsp. of real lemon juice. I served this with fresh fruit and real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States