Buttermilk Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is your standard buttermilk pound cake. I used butter instead of shortening and do add two more eggs to increase the moistness. I also added 2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1 Tbsp. of real lemon juice. I served this with fresh fruit and real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This recipe appealed because of the buttermilk and simplicity. I did make some changes because the original recipe I found to be uninteresting and a little dry. I subsituted 1/4 cup butter for some of the shortening and used the grated rind of 2 lemons rather than lemon flavoring. Also I glazed it with a simple icing made from lemon juice (real) and icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Very tasty and simple recipe to make, and I'll definitely make it again. I included about a cup of frozen blueberries that I tossed with some flour so they wouldn't sink to the bottom and added some fresh lemon zest (about a tsp.) to the batter for a bit more lemony taste. However, the temperature of 300° for 1 hour just didn't cut it (and my oven thermometer is working). The cake was barely beginning to brown on top at 55 minutes and the batter was still "jiggly", so I cranked up the heat to about 350° and cooked it for another 15 minutes. Cooled it on a wire rack for 15 minutes and then removed the sides of the tube pan. Cooled it completely on the tube part of the pan, and then loosened the bottom and tube part with a knife and turned it over on a large round platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I baked this at 350 degrees (300 didn't seem hot enough) for 45-55 minutes. The outside turned nice and brown while the inside stayed soft. I changed the lemon to vanilla and upped it to 1 ts and added 1 cup chocolate chips. A very simple, light, and not really sweet cake which was a nice change. I definately want to try it the lemon way, too. I will most likely make this cake again when I have buttermilk to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lanie60
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious cake and so easy to make. I baked mine at 350 degrees for approx. 45 minutes. It came out moist. I would not change the recipe as we thought it very good. Served it with fresh strawberries and a dollop of cool whip...Although it would be great with out the additional garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
i find that when a cake calls for crisco shortening in order to get a buttery taste also, then you crisco butter.it comes in sticks and should be close to the regular shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Axson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Very dry and "dull". I think it would have been much better if not baked as long as the recipe called for. Will try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I think this would be a great recipe for those that loves buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
really good taste, moist and flavorful. However, I found that it was necessary to cook at 350° F and for the full hour. Other than that a worthwhile recipe to attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This pound cake is abosolutely divine. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States