Buttermilk Potato Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thought I followed the recipe carefully, but I had the following problems: 1. breading needed more seasoning. If I were to make again, which I probably won't, I would definitely add more herbs & spices. 2. breading did not stick when I fried. 3. recipe called for 1/2 cup of oil, which was not nearly enough to cook. I tripled the amount of oil, which helped because I didn't have to continually turn the chicken, thus causing the coating to fall off. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I used celery salt instead of regular salt and added a tsp of onion powder and BAM! It's incredible!! I also used boneless/skinless breasts ponded flat instead of whole chicken pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Needs more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was really good, the coating was perfect. Well worth buying buttermilk instead of the cheating method of adding lemon juice or vinegar to sweet milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
buttermilk is the bomb diggity. makes for very good fried chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This was a little more time consuming than I originally had planned but the end result was worth it. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I'm sorry to say, this was'nt very good. Very bland,I added ALOT of spices to try to perk it up and nothing seemed to help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
The recipe is somewhat bland. I'd suggest adding pepper sauce (Tabasco, etc) to the buttermilk. Also, to make it quicker (and unfortunately change Kathy's recipe somewhat!) is to mix cornmeal with crushed potato crisps. Because they are salty, not extra salt might be needed. Try a cheese-and-onion flavour. AND: don't fry. Pack in an oven dish and bake, drizzled with a little olive oil. This way the covering won't come off either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This was ok. I thought it tasted bland. Used boneless skinless breasts and dipped in egg to keep coating on. I won't make this again. My husband liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
it was alright, bt i had expected it to be better and it took much longer than i had time for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States