Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This butter milk pie is to die for my kids an grand kids an friends love it i make it every year for christmas an thanksgivin deliscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was my first time trying buttermilk pie, and my husband and toddler thought it was delicious. I found it a little bit greasy, but that's maybe because it wasn't cool enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a delicious recipe! I always make a caramel sauce with brown sugar, butter, salt, and cream and pour it over the top before serving. It brings it to another level! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good. Made as directed, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe bt added 1 1/2 table spoon custard powder in the mixture. Also pre cooked the pie else I would have burnt the cream part of my pie. Yes a bit too sweet bt for sure will try it with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shamina Bheekha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baker at  heart
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It was really good! I took advice of others and: Started pie off at 400 degrees for 15 minutes then lowered to 325 for an additional 40 minutes. 55 mn total cooking time. Very easy to make and it really hit the sweet spot ;-) Definitely use a DEEP DISH pie crust and pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My family loved it! My local grocery did not have fresh nutmeg, therefore had to use my dried spices. Turned out perfect substitutions are not necessary for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was my first try making a buttermilk pie and I have not heard of one before either but since I had a whole lot of buttermilk left in the fridge, which I didn't want to throw out, I thought I give it a try! My husband loved it, for me it was too sweet. So between okay for me and "love it" from my husband it deserves 4 stars. As somebody else suggested, I precooked it in the microwave for a couple minutes and baked it for 60 minutes, yet it was not fully done. Thanks for the recipe, the lemon flavor came out nice and the nutmeg blended in well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Aside from taking a long time to set and being beyond a golden brown... it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This pie is new to me. It did not sound good to me. Let me tell you, try it, you will love it. As always,made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States