Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this without the crust, so I guess it wasn't really pie - but very different! And delicious!(That left out a lot of calories, too.) As long as I was juicing a lemon, I grated in about a tsp. or so of zest, which really "brightened" up the flavor. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I have mixed feelings although I did like it. BUT...I only used a scant cup of sugar (hence 4 stars) as 1-1/2 cups appeared overkill for myself. Mine tasted just fine on sweet level. I did use that True Lemon powder (1/2 t) instead of lemon juice. I also blind baked a pre-made crust by Pillsbury which is a deep dish type and entire filling fit right in. Also, I screwed up and dumped the buttermilk in the butter/sugar mix b4 the eggs and it was pretty grainy. So I put the mix in micro for 1 minute (1000 watt) and it became smooth and creamy. I have these silicone crust protectors called "tan not burn" and used it during entire baking. In the end...good pie although nothing I've tried before. Heck, we ate it! lol. It needs 'something' but not sure what. Also, I did start at 400 for 15 minutes and reduced to 350 for 30 minutes, shut oven off and left it alone for 10 more minutes. I've decided I like this room temp, not refrigerated. Didn't get a chance to freeze any because this pie flavor grows on you and 2 of us ate it all in 3 days. I will make again when I have excess buttermilk to use up and maybe add more lemon/nutmeg. Thanks for the great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is the hands down fav. At our house now that summer is over and blackberries aren't in season for BlackBerry cobbler. This was SO GOOD! I only put half the amount of butter when I make a double recipe, since I did this once when I didn't have enough. So delicious and still AWESOME. We also use our homemade buttermilk from our raw cows milk....mmm. I'm only 15, but hey...it's still easy to make for non cookers as well. I do suggest putting less sugar...and more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I thought it was great!!!! I have used my Grammy Ruth's recipe for YEARS... and this was right there in the goodness and tastiness of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Turns out pretty darn nice! I can't see any alterations that I'd make to it. Yum =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaa Moka Voir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I may have the biggest sweet tooth of anyone I know, but this was just over-the-top sweet. WAY WAY TOO SWEET. Had me wondering if this was what a couple of cans of sweetened condensed milk + eggs + flour would taste like. Let me put it like this: I ate half a slice (1.5" at crust, max) before bed and then lay in bed unable to sleep, heart racing, because of the sugar rush. It's that bad. I'm thinking 1 cup of sugar would be plenty, but I won't try it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Everyone loved it! So quick and easy to put together and the texture and flavor is great. It's going into my standard "must have" for Thanksgiving. My nephew told me it had better be at the Christmas dinner. :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good pie, I did not change one thing about the recipe. The next time I will leave out the lemon juice as we like our pies on the sweet side. I am going to add this to my holiday menu. Baked for 50 min and it was cooked perfectly. Put rack on lowest position.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
While this tasted amazing and came out looking very nice, this recipe makes way too much for a regular 9-inch pie shell. I wasted probably 3/4 of a cup. This must be a deep-dish recipe. If used with a deep-dish crust, this would turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Tullos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My great grandmother used to make these pies. My mom had the recipe and somehow I never got a copy. This pie is exactly like hers. It was delicious. It is sweet and rich so go easy on the size of the slices. I left out the nutmeg just because I don't like it but other than that I cooked it about 10 minutes longer. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States