Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
My new favorite! I have made it twice. The first time the crust almost burned before inside done- so the second time I microwaved the inside in a glass bowl for 2minutes to speed up the cooking time inside. I also cooked the pie crust in the oven- I love my crust flakey on the bottom- After the pie crust was lightly cooked I poured the microwaved pie mixture in the pie and cooked till the crust was a nice brown and the inside was done. Awesome! I speed up many recipes using the microwave to precook the insides alittle faster. Pies or casseroles or baked potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
My family loved this recipe. I made two pies and one I used nutmeg and the other ground cinnamon. I have to say the one with cinnamon came out better. A word of advice, use deep dish pie crust.Thanks For Such A Wonderful Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this pie today and it really turned out great. I did a little bit of substitution--instead of eggs I used egg beaters, Splenda instead of sugar and Reduced Fat Buttermilk. Not sure how many calories I saved but it was still great and it was also more diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This recipe will do but I have one that's been used in my family for generations that notes some differences: 3 eggs (beaten), 1 1/2 C. sugar, 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter (melted, cooled to lukewarm), 1/2 C. Buttermilk (make your own by adding a tabls. of vinegar to milk and let sit 1/2 hour - same chemical reaction), 2 Tabls. flour,rounded - not heaping, 1 teas. pure vanilla. Mix/sift together (sifting originated decades ago when flour almost always had mealy bugs in it!!) sugar and flour, add buttermilk, butter, eggs and vanilla. Mix well. Pour into pie shell (hard for the best cook to beat Pillsbury's frig crust - but use a Deep Dish if using frozen). Bake at 400 for 15 minutes. Reduce to 325 for apx. 30-40 minutes. Note: Pie should rise up in the middle - it will fall to level upon cooking. Additional test; shake - should not wiggle in the middle. This pie melts in your mouth and couldn't be easier. Variations: Add some fresh sliced peaches in a round across the top when in season. Or - Toss over some mini chocolate chips after that first 15 minutes. Enjoy whatever version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE! We generally purchase a buttermilk pie each week from an amazing restaurant ($28 per pie) that we truly love...until we decided to try THIS recipe :o) I have already made two pies and they literally disappeared. The flavor and texture are right on. I do not add the entire tbs of lemon juice (but almost)...and I increase the vanilla by just a smidge...besides that - NO changes and you end up with total perfection! THANKS SO MUCH for the recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShabbyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I've been searcing for the recipe my grandmother used to make and this is very close. Tasted great and was easy to make. Boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This pie is delish!! I am not a lemon lover, so left that out and used approx. 2 t. vanilla instead. Also, left out the nutmeg. My husband wants me to add coconut to it the next time. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
OH MY! Yummy pie! I used 2 of the shallow pie shells & baked about 25 minutes. What a perfect recipe. Everyone should try this- don't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I think, people should give review off of the recipe that is posted, not a recipe that they have created by changing what has been kindly given to us. Post your own, if you are just going to change everything, and then say I tweaked this, added that, and omitted this, other than that, was a great recipe. It frustrates me. This is a great pie, just the way it is, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I lost my own buttermilk pie recipe and thought this was the closest to the one I made for years. The pie was tasty and I got lots of compliments. Like every other buttermilk pie recipe there is always a little of the custard that will not fit into the pie shell. I made three pies and had enough left over from each to make a small pie to leave at home. I followed someone's previous suggestion and tried two with cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I liked both versions. I think it just depends whether you like the flavor of nutmeg or cinnamon better. Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States