Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was ok, definetly better the next day. I needed to use up some buttermilk and found this to be interesting. I will probably make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A good old-fashioned pie. It took 70 minutes to bake, and I covered the crust partway through cookiing so it wouldn't get burnt. I liked the browning on top and felt that it added to the flavor. The only thing I'll do differently next time is reduce the sugar. Both my RM and I felt that the pie is too sweet as-is. And the key to this pie's success is a nice balance between sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
It is good but be sure to cook the crust first. Our whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Awesome creamy custard like pie base for many flavors. I added extra lime juice instead of lemon and coconut shavings/flakes. It was so good! I didn't even use a crust. I just dusted the buttered pan with flour and poured it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was hard to rate because in some ways I liked it and in some ways I didn't. I think it's a good start but next time I would use much less sugar. Too sweet for my taste. I also think I am going to leave out the lemon and use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Just my personal taste. Although I like lemon I think it made it too tart but maybe that was the buttermilk. I've never had buttermilk Pie before so that might be how it's supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Turned out perfect! I used fresh squeezed lemon juice -- not sure if that made a difference but it is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
If I could give ten stars I would ,Love buttermilk pie so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Loved this pie. Followed the recipe as it is with exception of adding chopped walnuts to the top prior to baking. It turned out great and is now my favorite Buttermilk Pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This Recipe is fabulous! Buttermilk pie is my dad's favorite but i didn't have a Recipe for it. I used this and made him a pie all to himself this Christmas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this after a last minute menu change for Thanksgiving since I had an extra pie crust and everything on hand. I would have given it all 5 stars except that I did make some very slight changes: I followed the recommendation to start the filling in the microwave as I was worried about getting the crust/top too dark (photo honestly didn't build confidence either). I basically warmed the filling with one minute increments, whisking before adding time since I didn't want to scramble the eggs. Once is was fairly hot I poured it into the shell and followed the baking instructions. I also switched out the nutmeg for cinnamon for personal preference and after tasting it we all agreed that that was the right choice...very little was and my left and my mother-in-law enjoyed having a pie her mom use to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States