Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We are always searching for recipes sweetened with honey, and I modified this one to use honey. I replaced sugar with 1 cup honey and reduced buttermilk to 3/4 cup. I baked at 325 degrees for about 50 - 55 min. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummmooo! We are not sweet eaters....but his was def an exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very, very good buttermilk pie. Next time I will reduce sugar by 1/2-2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
AMAZING!! I had a lot of extra buttermilk from previously making a white chocolate cake. I had never even heard of buttermilk pie, but it sounded interesting. I tried it out one day, making one 9 inch deep dish pie and it was metrically the perfect amount of filling. My family loved it as did my coworkers. Still had buttermilk and decided to make two nine inch smaller pies, worked perfectly with the filling once more. I gave one Pie away and they loved it, kept the other one for a bbq and everyone who tried it loved it. Both times i used nutmeg and cinnamon in them. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because i feel it can still be a bit better, something is missing and I plan on finding out what it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Lynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Castroville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Slight changes to the recipe (all suggested by other reviewers). I cooked my pie shell for 4 minutes, I subbed one tbsp of flour for cornstarch and used slightly less sugar than called for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. The batter CURDLED. I freaked out and thought it was ruined, but cooked it anyway with small hope. Then I read online somewhere else that this might happen and not to panic. I still had my doubts, especially when the top looked very brown. BUT!!!! It tastes great! The top is brown, but not burnt and as another reviewer stated, it gives it a good flavor. It's very lemony with just 1 tbsp of lemon, but I might consider adding the zest next time. I have no idea why it curdled though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was ok, definetly better the next day. I needed to use up some buttermilk and found this to be interesting. I will probably make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A good old-fashioned pie. It took 70 minutes to bake, and I covered the crust partway through cookiing so it wouldn't get burnt. I liked the browning on top and felt that it added to the flavor. The only thing I'll do differently next time is reduce the sugar. Both my RM and I felt that the pie is too sweet as-is. And the key to this pie's success is a nice balance between sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
It is good but be sure to cook the crust first. Our whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Awesome creamy custard like pie base for many flavors. I added extra lime juice instead of lemon and coconut shavings/flakes. It was so good! I didn't even use a crust. I just dusted the buttered pan with flour and poured it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States