Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I recommend: If you get frozen 9-inch pie crusts you MUST pre-cook it. Marie Callendar's pie crusts instruct people to pre-cook it about 10 mins at 400 degrees after pricking the sides and bottom thoroughly. First thaw them at room temp for 15 mins. This is very important. I think if people skip this step then any pies, specifically custard or pudding type pies will not set in the center. Secondly, I would use a Meyer lemon, these lemons are not so "sour" and they are great for cooking with a nice lemon but not sour flavor. A bit of lemon zest, as someone recommended, sure, why not? I cut the sugar down to only 1 C. Some people love super sweet pies and others do not. So it's personal taste. Just recall that true Southern pies tend to be very very sugary, so keep this in mind. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Came out perfectly! I left out the lemon juice and added extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Fabulous! The best chess pie I've ever had. After baking for 30 minutes I reduced the oven temperature by 25 degrees and laid a piece of foil over the pie to prevent the top from over browning. This increased the baking time to about seventy minutes, but the extra time was worth it. A beautiful pie worthy of a state fair ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Best buttermilk pie recipe I have tried, and I tried a few! I did leave out the lemon and 2 teaspoon vanilla and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. What really impressed me was the creamy texture that I was not getting in other recipes, nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was amazing. I never have even heard of buttermilk pie so I no idea what to expect. I used a deep dish pie pan with a store bought crust and it came out awesome. Followed the recipe exactly even the cooking time. Would not change a thing. I'll be making this for the next picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made 2 pies and it was wonderful my only problem was it was kinda sweet so I am making some today and Im going to try and dial back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used refrigerated, pre-rolled pie crusts, and made 2 pies (out of one recipe... it would be great for a single deep-dish pie, but there's too much for a regular pie plate). Because one of the reviewers mentioned that she almost burned the crust the first time she made it, I covered the edges of my crust with aluminum foil, which kept them from scorching. When I tested the pies for doneness at 40 minutes, they still needed a few minutes, so I took off the aluminum foil and when the pies were done the crusts were a lovely golden brown. Apart from splitting the filling between two shells, I made no other substitutions, and believe me, this recipe doesn't need any! Wonderful pie... a new favorite. I'm glad I made 2, so I can freeze one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent. ..Tastes better as the days go by if you can keep it that long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the best & easiest pie recipe ever! I am not a hardcore baker but you would never know it because this recipe made my buttermilk pies a hit over the holidays! Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe. The first 3 pies I made using this recipe, I substitued with Crisco butter flavored sticks. The last pie I made, I used regular butter. The only difference is that with regular butter the pie will bubble more and release a lot of air but it makes for a prettier pie.Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Stumbled on this recipe one day when I needed to use up some buttermilk.....it has now become my son in laws favorite pie! (Beats out pumpkin!!) 1 L of buttermilk will make 4 pies. Freezes fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States