Buttermilk Pie with Molasses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
This pie is really easy to make and it is very good. You don't have to put the molasas on top of it, it is good by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is very good. Everyone loved it, but it is _very_ rich. It reminded me a bit of those old fashioned buttermilk doughnuts...with the glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Gobbled up very quickly! I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and it was still sweet enough. Next time, I'll serve with the molasses. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
This delicious pie tastes just like the pies my grandma Bee used to make back in Kentucky! I tried a slice without the molasses, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I have wanted to make this for a long time and I finally did for Thanksgiving. It was so yummy and easy I wondered why I waited to so long. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Based on previous comments, I only used 1 1/4 cup sugar and the pie was plenty sweet. I used a frozen pie crust (thawed), and luckily I had purchased the "deep dish" size because it filled up the pie crust. My pie seemed to separate into two distinct layers, the bottom layer was yellow custard and the top layer was a lighter yellow with a firmer texture. This must be the nature of buttermilk pies because another recipe I made from an old cookbook did the same thing. A nice, old-fashioned dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is wonderful! A friend of ours had told us about Buttermilk Pie and we found this one. Easy to make, sinful to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Pretty darn good. I, too, as others suggested, cut back on the sugar. I used 1 1/4 C and threw in about another tablespoon or so for the heck of it. :) My daughter and I thought it tasted like creme brulee. I used a store bought deep dish crust that I thawed for 15 minutes. I baked this longer than 45 minutes. Closer to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This recipe is very similar to the buttermilk pie IV, which I rather like. However, this recipe gave me the idea of microwaving a bit of molasses to pour over individual servings. I think it is a very interesting mix of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This pie was easy to whip up, and looked really nice, but I felt it was extremely sweet. I think the molasses would compliment the tangy buttermilk flavor, but the pie was so sweet by itself, the molasses was overkill. I would recommend reducing the sugar in the pie by at least 3/4 cup. One of my picky eaters gobbled it up, but the other one wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States