Buttermilk Pie with Molasses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
This pie is really easy to make and it is very good. You don't have to put the molasas on top of it, it is good by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is very good. Everyone loved it, but it is _very_ rich. It reminded me a bit of those old fashioned buttermilk doughnuts...with the glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Gobbled up very quickly! I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and it was still sweet enough. Next time, I'll serve with the molasses. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This pie was easy to whip up, and looked really nice, but I felt it was extremely sweet. I think the molasses would compliment the tangy buttermilk flavor, but the pie was so sweet by itself, the molasses was overkill. I would recommend reducing the sugar in the pie by at least 3/4 cup. One of my picky eaters gobbled it up, but the other one wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
This delicious pie tastes just like the pies my grandma Bee used to make back in Kentucky! I tried a slice without the molasses, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I have wanted to make this for a long time and I finally did for Thanksgiving. It was so yummy and easy I wondered why I waited to so long. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I believe this pie was WAY too sweet. I cooked it for 20 minutes longer and it was still a little runny. I don't think that I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Based on previous comments, I only used 1 1/4 cup sugar and the pie was plenty sweet. I used a frozen pie crust (thawed), and luckily I had purchased the "deep dish" size because it filled up the pie crust. My pie seemed to separate into two distinct layers, the bottom layer was yellow custard and the top layer was a lighter yellow with a firmer texture. This must be the nature of buttermilk pies because another recipe I made from an old cookbook did the same thing. A nice, old-fashioned dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
not what i was expecting at all. i will stick with traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This recipe is very similar to the buttermilk pie IV, which I rather like. However, this recipe gave me the idea of microwaving a bit of molasses to pour over individual servings. I think it is a very interesting mix of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States