Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS! I have NEVER had this pie before. It was like a combination of butterscotch and vanilla and melt in your mouth GOOD! The only thing I wasn't sure of was whether or not I should pre-bake the crust... I did not.. and it turned out SMASHING! Anytime I have leftover buttermilk from my famous pancakes, I am most certainly going to make this pie again and again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Love this receipe! So easy to make and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
All I can say is....DELICIOUS. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again. Served with fresh strawberries and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family absolutely loved this recipe. This is one I'll definitely keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the BEST pie! I had never made it before...and my family just raved over it. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 3/4, and I had forgotten to buy a deep dish so I divided the pies into two regular 9" shells and baked two pies. It turned out great and I have already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I had never heard of this pie before and initially I was skeptical - sounded boring. BOY, WAS I WRONG! It was DELICIOUS!! I even tried to convince my 13-year old that he wouldn't like it and that he should give his piece to me. He took one bite and said "No way"! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I followed the instructions exactly and the only change I made was a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar on the top before baking. If you like pecan pie but find it to be too rich then I encourage you to try this one. It is very similar in flavor but not nearly as heavy and rich as pecan pie. In fact,the next time I make it I'm going to try it as a base for a pecan pie. It couldn't be easier to make and the ingredients are very inexpensive. All I had to buy was the buttermilk. And don't worry if you hate buttermilk (as I certainly do) you won't even taste it. This is a very creamy, sweet, and highly addictive pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Really easy. I used a bit less sugar. It was gone in minutes. Everyone liked it and several -Northerners ;)had never heard of buttermilk pie and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This Buttermilk Pie was delicious. I didn't feel that is had too much sugar. I followed the recipe exactly. I may use two regular pie crust next time and decrease the cooking time when using two crust. Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I have made this recipe several times. I follow this recipe to a tee. I found this here on All recipes a couple years ago. You can not go wrong with this pie. It is delicious and SO easy. I have tried several things. Fat Free buttermilk is not good at all. For a richer creamer pie use Bavarian Buttermilk. Try this pie you'll fall in love with it. THANKS to the submitter it's a family favorite around the holidays.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States