Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Buttermilk pie was something I grew up eating in the south. I recently turned my husband onto eating it (he's from Michigan). He begged me to make one for Christmas. I found this recipe and it seemed very similar to what I've been eating for years. It was very easy to make and came out wonderful. One of the elders in the family said they had been eating buttermilk pie for years and never had one this good. That was a big deal for me. So needless to say this is a pie I'm sure I'll be making time and time again. I'm sure they'll be no complaints either. Especially since I was asked when I'd be making another :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
There is way too much sugar in this. I cut it back to 1 1/2 per other reviews. It was still good but I prefer the Buttermilk Pie on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is such a good pie. I love recipes like this, easy but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Who would have known that buttermilk pie could be so good? Reminded me of a hot cream cheese flan. I did alter the recipe and only used 1 cup of sugar. Next time, I would like to try the recipe as is to compare the 2 results. Used "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust." This flaky crust was perfect with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Way too sweet...and I LOVE desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
It was easy and pretty. little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Huge hit at thanksgiving. I'm sooooooooooo glad I made this, too, since I forgot to put sugar in the pumpkin pie! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Buttermilk pie is a tradition at our house and I lost the recipe. Decided to try this one. Hubby is the Bmilk pie freak and he said it was the best one I had ever made. I reduced the sugar to a little shy of 2 cups but other than that followed the recipe to a T, which is suprising because the other recipe called for three cups sugar which I always reduced. Anyway, thanks so much for the recipe. I'm making it again today cause I bought too much buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Wow, this is very good. I used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup Splenda and it's very very sweet. I may cut back the margarine next time to about 1/2 a stick instead of a full stick and I did use fat-free buttermilk. The pie is very rich and yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this flavor of pie! Smooth, vanilla and buttery taste...delicious. I sprinkled cinnamon on top. Forgot to add salt. I'm guessing that would cut some of the sugar. I'm making this every Thanksgiving now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States