Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cdelasbour1
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the instruction to a "T" and product two delicous pies. It was a hit at work, both pies were gone before the ,iddle of my shift. Simple to make and tastes great!! Can't bet those qualities about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdelasbour1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
2 Cups of sugar!?!? Way too much. I used 1 1/4 cups as others have suggested and it came out just right. Buttermilk pie is a great pie classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Devlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have made this pie a few times, and it always comes out great, my hubby absolutely loves it! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdeluco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Great recipe. I did cut the sugar to one cup and it proved to be plenty. Might even reduce it a little more next time. Sprinkled cinnamon on the top like another reviewer. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I love Buttermilk pie!!! I have a wonderful aunt who usually cooks this recipe for the holidays but she hasnt been able for a few years and the recipe has been lost soo I have been looking for years for a new recipe and this is it! Thank you!! The only thing I will change is like others suggested cut the sugar in half! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Reduction of sugar is necessary...otherwise, it was ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATIEMOON
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yummy, it must be a forgiving recipe. I substituted coconut flavoring for the vanilla and used 2 regular pie crust instead of the deep dish, simply because that it what I had on hand. We really enjoyed it, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wow! I tell you what! This pie is the king of all buttermilk pies. After trying several store-bought pies and tasting them at pie auctions and bake offs (I love to taste) I finally decided to bake my own. This was the fist recipe I tried and the only recipe i will try, and I finally realize why buttermilk pies have transcended throughout the ages. My family worships this pie and are convinced I am the only one who knows how to make a pie (they call it my famous buttermilk pie...shhh)and now expect it at any gathering or event. Just three tweeks more butter, less sugar, and little to no lemon. It'll have 'em beggin' for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Way, way too sweat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This pie was so easy to put together! I did not have buttermilk so I used 1 cup milk with 1 tablespoon lemon juice. I did mess up with the oven temperature. I reduced to 350 instead of 325, so this baby came out of the oven about 15 minutes sooner. It came out beautiful with the top and crust nice and golden. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States