Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I cut the amount sugar in half and it was wonderful. Two slices at a time is the only way to eat this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Delicious! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I used twice a much vanilla because I love the flavor. The sugar carmelized and gave the pie a slight caramel flavor that I absolutely loved. I wouldn't make this pie with anything but whole buttermilk. Will gladly make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars but only because of the amount of sugar this recipe requires. I don't like "sugary-sweet" so I cut down the amount of sugar in this pie to 1 cup and next time I make this, I may cut it down to a little more than 3/4 cup. Overall the recipe is very good, especially served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this pie today and it was delicious! I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and I am glag I did because it definitely would have been too sweet. I used a stick of butter instead of margerine and I reduced the temp to 350 for the first 15 the 325 for 1 hr. It wasn't runny at all, it firmed up nicely. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by positiveenergee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this pie for the first time today and it is GREAT! Very easy to follow directions and not to sweet just right. I did add coconut for texture, but didn't change anything else. This is going to be a well used recipe. Thank you so much Carla for sharing this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I made the recipe as stated with only one exception, I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I took it to a church potluck and it was a hit. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I have made this twice now. The first time I took it out 5 minutes early because the top was getting so dark. That was a mistake as it was too runny. The second time, I covered it with foil towards the end and left it in for an extra five minutes. It was still a bit runny, but not so bad. It thickened up after I put it in the fridge. Will I make this again? Maybe if I have the ingredients already, but only then. Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Christoval, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
It's taken me a long time to get around to reviewing this. I've been using this recipe for years. The only change I've ever made was to substitute real butter for margarine. This is so delicious and it's the first dessert that's gone on Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
My husband called from work and requested this pie.....my first time making one and it is delicious!! He says it tastes like the one his "old aunt" used to make when he was younger! I will surely be making this one again and again! I lessened the sugar by 1/2 cup....still sweet enough for us! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Union City, Georgia, USA
Photo by OStreetGuy
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is a wonderful pie, and for me a go to when ever I make my buttermilk cornbread. It’s easy to prepare and is always a big hit with friends, especially those that have never heard of buttermilk pie! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States